Mostly trees

Next Wednesday sees the start of National Tree Week, through to Sunday 7th December.

In celebration of that here are my three plot trees.

(1) dscn0823 (2) dscn0820 andΒ  (3) dscn0821

They are a Hawthorn (1), Common Oak (2) and Common Ash (3). All are no more than a foot high so not very impressive yet.

Far more impressive is this willow tree that is to the left of the allotment gates.dscn0809

Last Sunday I noticed a couple of broken branches on the ground under the canopy so on Wednesday I took a saw with me and the log pile has now grown somewhat! I also gathered some of the leaves from under there and added them to one of the compost heaps.

A good site for identifying trees is British Trees, and another good tree site is Trees for Cities.

On Thursday morning I spent a couple of hours doing some general plotting when I took these photos

dscn0851 and dscn0852

The latter I should be able to find in British Bugs, which is an online identification guide to UK Hemiptera!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Mostly trees

  1. daffy says:

    Oooh what a creepy leafy looking bug!
    Lovely entry as always.
    That tree is impressive! My huge cherry tree is looking cold and naked this wintry morning.
    Tree week!
    :o)
    Take care Flighty enjoy your Sunday… I’m off to do the ironing…unless you want to volunteer?
    No? Thought not!
    :o)xx

  2. Glo says:

    What a bright cheery header! Although the size of your little trees may not be impressive, isn’t it amazing that the little “twiggly” trunks and roots are the beginnings of something that could one day provide a person with shade πŸ™‚ My Oakley has dropped its 5 leaves now. A magnificent picture of Polly and her green bugfriend! Well done, indeed! I, on the other hand, had a visit from a couple of blue jays today!

  3. Glo says:

    PS I love that willow tree, and think it’s wonderful that the parrots do too πŸ™‚

  4. Flighty says:

    Daffy it was on the rake handle and was about the size of a thumb nail.
    It is indeed and various birds seem to fly in and out of it.
    No sorry I’m off to the hut and plot soon, then after lunch sofa flying with a good book, tea and biscuits. xx

  5. Flighty says:

    Glo thanks. It’ll be interesting to see how they grow over the coming years. I’ll check my oak later on to see it it’s now leafless!
    As you can see I was surprising close to Polly, and a lot closer to bugfriend.
    Lucky you, as you know I rarely catch more than a quick glimpse of Jays here, unlike you and Daffy!
    Yes it’s a wonderful tree and lots of birds, including the parrots, seem to like it. xx

  6. Liv says:

    Ah, memories…at my school we had a willow tree in the field and we used to love going under the canopy because it felt like a comfy room.
    xx

  7. Flighty says:

    Liv I’m not surprised as this one has enough room for a barn dance to be held under it! xx

  8. Olivia says:

    Hehe! I would definitely go to a barn dance under a tree!

  9. nikkipolani says:

    How nice to see the entrance to the allotments – and the tree is impressive indeed, especially if that gate is as tall as I think it is! I wonder how your little saplings will do in the next season. And that bug is quite unique. He is an eye-catcher for sure!

  10. Ellie says:

    Yes, I agree – your header is a lovely, cheery one.

    Thanks for the link to National Tree week. No major events near me, but we have some lovely ‘Histree Trails’ – http://www.histreetrail.com – one of which is close to where I live.

    And we’ve been gathering fallen branches for our woodburner – it’s a very satisfying thing to do, isn’t it? x

  11. Flighty says:

    Nikki the gates are 7 feet high so I reckon the tree is about 50 feet.
    I shall keep an eye on my saplings and report on their progress periodically.
    The bug sure caught my eye! xx

  12. Flighty says:

    Ellie thanks. It’s nice to show some summer flowers at this time of year.
    There’s some good trails shown on that link.
    Lucky you having a woodburner. Yes it is! xx

  13. ip says:

    Impressive tree near the gates. many years ago, my mother who could plant something in wet concrete, and tell it to grow, gave me a small cutting of a CastlewellanGold fir tree, and I planted it in a corner of the garden.

    It must be over 30 ft now and is not easily discouraged from growing! However it does provide a wonderful nesting site for lots of pigeons.

    Wonderful feats of nature- trees!

  14. Flighty says:

    IP what a wonderful story!
    They are indeed! Cheers.

  15. Chippy says:

    Nearest likeness I can find for you bug is:
    Cyphostethus tristriatus ‘Juniper Shieldbug’
    Family: Acanthosomatidae
    No doubt you got the same?

    (Aside to self…… ‘That should get me into Mike’s blogroll list’….LOL)

  16. VP says:

    Hi Flighty – thanks for the reminder about National Tree week. Time was I’d be busy arranging a tree planting weekend of 1,000 trees and so wouldn’t forget about it. Sigh.

    Sorry I missed you at the weekend – we’ve been away, but scheduled posts to pop up so my nablopomo keeps on going. Looks like you had a good one πŸ™‚
    xx

  17. Flighty says:

    Chippy I agree that’s what it looks like!
    I probably would have but I forgot to look!
    .
    You’re now a lawn lounger! Cheers.

  18. Flighty says:

    VP you’re welcome! Really!
    That’s okay. I see you’re still going well with that!
    I did thanks, despite the wintry weather. xx

  19. Liz says:

    What a magnificent willow.

Leave a Reply

