A bit like the weather

I have to say that my mood this morning whilst walking to the hut was a bit like the weather, namely rather sombre.

I was wondering why morons do things like this, details which you can read about on Daffy’s entry Why? Why? Why?

My thoughts are also with Beginninghere, Nikki and the cats, and hoping that they are all okay.

At the hut I had my usual chat, a cup of tea, bought some bird food and Christmas Draw raffle tickets before heading to the plot.

I was pleased to see 1), although it’s not a good photo, and they were very vocal and flying round, (see also below).  Last week I took 2) which was one of a bunch squabbling away as usual.

1)  dscn0829 2)  dscn0819 3)  dscn0833

This rye grass 3) caught my eye as did the still flowering mallow 4). Look at the roses Valentine Heart 5) and Pretty Lady 6)

4)  dscn0835 5)  dscn0831 6)  dscn0838

All over the plot the past couple of weeks have been lots of 7) and 8) which is not surprising given the relatively mild and very damp conditions.

Back at the end of October Frog SoCal 9) was noted on the end of the log pile enjoying the sunshine!

7)  dscn0812 8)  dscn0813 9) dscn0801

On the way home I passed the entrance to the adjacent ecology park and heard a now familiar sound. Just through the gate to the left are some trees in which were

dscn0841

It looks like I’m going to see lots of these from now on, so let’s hope I get a good photo or two!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to A bit like the weather

  1. Ellie says:

    Nice to see some flowers are still struggling to make an appearance, despite the gloom.

    I think I recall hearing about these parakeets in London – didn’t they originally escape from a zoo but are flourishing? Must be lovely to see. x

  2. ip says:

    I have still got one rose blooming….even through the frost!

  3. nikkipolani says:

    How refreshing to see some nice things still producing to bring a smile. I see little magnet froggy is enjoying the plot as well. We’re doing a little better after spending the afternoon with my parents who have a little less smoke than we do. Back home now and cats gave a yawn. I heard two of them sneeze but hopefully will recover soon. Ash continues to fall…

  4. Flighty, its refreshing to look at photos from your plot. Even Mr. Frog is out and about I see. And you seem to have the same green parrots that visit our neighborhood! Thanks for your kind thoughts. We all are safe. Just hoping for clearer air soon.

  5. Glo says:

    Good to see from the comments above that Nikki and beginninghere have returned home, and I hope that the winds and fires have calmed down. Devastation caused by these wildfires definitely put things in perspective!

    Quite the variety of photos, Flighty ~ nice to know that the parakeets are close by in the willow tree. We’re getting introduced to all sorts of creatures who live in or about Plot 124.

    Your little bonnet mushrooms look like they belong in a fairy tale and so does the frog!

  6. Flighty says:

    Ellie even one or two spots of colour make such a difference on a dull day.
    There are various stories about how they escaped back in the 1960s. However they’ve certainly flourished since then. Until yesterday I’d only caught glimpses of them but as it seems that they’ve settled there I should hopefully see lots more of them. xx

  7. Flighty says:

    IP nowadays it seems that some roses just want to keep on flowering almost year round! Cheers.

  8. Flighty says:

    Nikki it’s nice to see such things on a damp, dull day.
    Frog seemed quite at home there, but I bought him back home to sofa leap!
    I hope that things improve soon, meantime I’ll be thinking of you all! xx

  9. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere thanks, and yes Frog seemed to enjoy his visit to the plot! Yesterday was the first time that I’d caught more than a glimpse of the parakeets.
    I’d really not realised just how close you are to the fires until I saw your photos.
    Take care, and thinking of you all! xx

  10. Flighty says:

    Glo yes it is. I think that over here we have little real conception of such fires and the terrible widespread damage that they cause.
    It’s good to have such variety even at this time of year. I’m going to have to list all the plot wildlife I’ve seen so far!
    Those fungi are everywhere, and Frog looks quite at home there doesn’t he! xx

  11. Liv says:

    I’m surprised those parrots make it through winter over there, considering their native habitats. I suppose they’ve acclimatised though, after generations at the London Zoo…

    xx

  12. daffy says:

    Well your birds and flowers certainly perked me up nicely. Don’t let this stuff get you down though. They don’t deserve our negative energies. Glad Nikki & BH are ok, and the kittieKats! xx

  13. Flighty says:

    Daffy that’s good to know! I’ll try not to let it. After my initial feelings I usually then feel positively angry towards towards whoever did it!
    Yes so am I. xx

  14. polythenepam says:

    I know that you will cheer up Flighty but it leaves a nasty taste when stuff like this happens. Still parrots on your allotment hey? you’re so sophisticated down south.

  15. Flighty says:

    Polythenepam yes I have thanks, but as you rightly say it does leave a nasty taste.
    Us down south allotmenteers are all very much down to earth folks thankfully! Take care. xx

  16. Blueandtigger says:

    I really enjoyed this entry. After a day of raking of leaves and looking at the bare gardens underneath the leaves, it’s nice to see some color :).

  17. Flighty says:

    Blueandtigger thanks! Luckily I don’t get leaves on the plot.
    It all looks very bare now so any colour is welcome! xx

  18. meeeeeeeeeee says:

    seeing those pictures reminds me I’ve got to tidy my garden 🙂

  19. Flighty says:

    Meeeeeeeeeee hello and welcome! You could leave it as is for the wildlife!

  20. meeeeeeeeeee says:

    hiya flighty,im formerly fraggle off 20 six if you remember me,was persuaded to restart blogging. xx was looking at your aeroplane section,baby isaac got an raf pram very rare but conversation starter xx

  21. Flighty says:

    Meeeeeeeeeee hello again, and yes I remember you!
    I see that you’re blogging here on WordPress so I’ll stop by later for a read and comment.
    It sounds like Isaac is off to a great start, and I’m sure having great fun, pram flying!
    I’ve also added you to my Lawn loungers list. Take care. xx

  22. mylozmom says:

    I believe your photo’s are wonderful my dear and thanks for sharing!

  23. Liv says:

    Oh I see, the foothills of the Himalayas…definitely a much harsher climate than the British Isles.

    Thanks for the link 🙂
    xx

  24. Flighty says:

    Mylozmom many thanks! I’m glad that you like them, and always more than happy to share them with you! xx

  25. Flighty says:

    Liv that’s right, so our climate must be quite pleasant for them. You’re welcome. xx

Leave a Reply

