Plot wind down

It’s not surprising that, after the rain and frosts we’ve had lately, the plot is now looking rather drab.

Apart from a soggy rose (1) and the rosemary (2) now in the stone feature everything is beginning to die back for the winter like this globe artichoke (3).

(1) (2)  (3) 

It was certainly wintry last night as it snowed here for a couple of hours! There were still signs that it’d settled in places such as my log seat (4), near the pond (5) and on the log pile (6)

(4) (5) (6)

As I came through the main gate onto the site I caught a first sighting of a bird on the nut feeder that I’ve mentioned here, but usually only hear or catch a quick glimpse of overhead. Maybe one day I’ll get a photo of one of them like this

It’s good to see all the birds again after a notable few months absence. Watching Autumnwatch last night Bill Oddie explained that during that time adult birds had molted and whilst growing new feathers were less able to fly well so kept themselves hidden away out of harms way.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Plot wind down

  1. Chippy says:

    Same up here Mike, cold and trying to snow last night, looks like I’ve got my work cut out tending my little patch and keeping numerous birds fed, a great deal of pleasure is to be had watching them too, if only the (seemingly) one remaining Robin would stay in one place long enough so I could get a decent photo….

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Ah, the plot is getting sleepy and about ready for its wintry nap. Do you leave everything as is and clean and clear in spring?

  3. Flighty says:

    Chippy I was really surprised to see it snowing, and settling, here last night!
    The birds are obviously eating for all they’re worth at the moment. I often see Robins around the allotments but, like you, have yet to get a photo of one.
    Take care, and cheers!

  4. Flighty says:

    Nikki there are a couple of areas, such as the patch between the pond and log pile, that I’ll leave for the wildlife and not touch until the spring.
    The rest I will dig, weed and tidy up over the coming months. xx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    With all the rain you get in your neck-o-the-woods, how do you keep up with the weeds? They must go crazy on the untended plots.

  6. Flighty says:

    Nikki they go crazy on tended plots let alone untended ones. It’s generally agreed that weeding has to be done all the time or it very quickly gets out of hand. There’s far too many on my plot and it’s something I must get in the habit of doing! xx

  7. divastar says:

    It maybe be soggy but the rose from your allotment still made me smile, thanks for that Flighty! :o) xxx

  8. Glo says:

    What kind of rose is the white one? (Other than soggy, I mean). I was wondering if it was an iceberg, or just one of your pink ones looking rather pale after contending with the cold and snow. You have mentioned that you like the look of white in a garden, so your wish came true :), although I think you meant flowers not flakes. Yes, weeding…that’s a continuous job. I cut many dead plants back now rather than pull them out of windowboxes etc. because quite often there are green signs of life near their base. Lots to do at this time of year before snow covers everything! Glad to see you had some greenery on your plot in the form of feathers!

  9. Flighty says:

    Divastar you’re welcome! I was going to shake the droplets off but decided to take it like this. xx

  10. Flighty says:

    Glo it’s a Valentine Heart

    Sadly the Iceberg grew well but produced no blooms so following advice I’ve cut it back to a handful of short stems. Hopefully next year…
    Yes I do like white but there weren’t really many flowers that colour this year, so next year…
    There’s always plenty to do even apart from weeding.
    Talking to John this afternoon, who’s there just about every day, he told me that he’s seen quite a few lately, a number of which perch in a large willow tree right by the main gates but are difficult to spot in it.

  11. Georgie says:

    Hi there. I’m interested to know why you have decided to grow your Rosemary in a container? I have a couple in pots but I find the plants in the border fair much better.

    G x

  12. Flighty says:

    Georgie hello! It was on the plot but not in a good spot so I moved it into the stone feature which had nothing of note in it.
    Have you any suggestions for something to go in it, as I’d be quite happy to move the rosemary elsewhere. xx

  13. Georgie says:

    Hmmm, tricky one. I’m assuming you are wanting something ‘useful’ with all year round interest? The container doesn’t look very big. How about one of the smaller Lavenders (which would smell nice and attract bees), under planted with some early flowering Alliums or perhaps Leucojum aestivem? Best I come up with off the top of my head.

    G x

  14. Snow already? Here we just had our first two nights with frost and during the day it’s mostly sunny which was great as I had to take little Tara to puppy school on Wednesday.

    cheerio, xx

  15. Flighty says:

    Georgie thanks for that. I’ve no lavenders at present and they are on my list. xx

  16. Flighty says:

    Yolanda yes! We had some frosty nights as well. It looks as though it’s going to warmer but wetter.
    I look forward to hearing how Tara gets on. xx

  17. I hate to say it Flighty, but I am encouraged by the photos of your plot winding down. I have faith 🙂 Our garden is not winding down but looks in the same condition or perhaps “droopier,” if that is a word. I look forward to seeing your bird pictures!

Leave a Reply

