A soggy Sunday!

This morning I donned my cap and wellies before venturing out to the hut to get some bird food, then on to the plot to replenish the feeders.  Thanks to Louise for reminding me to do this with her entry Feeding the birds.

This rose photo is in contrast to the rather sodden one I photographed this morning on what is most definitely a soggy Sunday!

Thank you all you lovely folks, especially Daffy NikkiPorcelain Rose-Glo and wakeupscared, for making Friday such an enjoyable day.

It’s looking distinctly wintry from mid-week with sleet slowers and 5 degC on Wednesday and heavy rain and 8 degC on Thursday with overnight frosts!

I’ll be pondering about having a go at the National Novel Writing Month. Both Knittering with her entry NaNoWriMo and Daffy’s post with the same title got me thinking about it!

Both have signed up for it as Sinta and TraceyC, and so have I as Flighty.

If I do go ahead then I’ll be writing it here.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to A soggy Sunday!

  1. Jennyta says:

    Sorry you had such a wet day, Flighty. Here it has been quite pleasant and sunny.

  2. Flighty says:

    Jenny lucky you! It’s 4.00pm here and I’m about to pull the curtains, put the light and fire on! xx

  3. Olivia says:

    I’m sure you don’t want to hear that today is 19C with a dazzling sun and jewel blue sky!

    As I write, I am sure you’ve already drawn the curtains, lit the fire, and settled in with a cuppa and a biccie 🙂
    xx

  4. Flighty says:

    Liv lucky you too!
    All that and reading a good book! xx

  5. Sinta says:

    I do hope NaNoWriMo gets your writing urges going 🙂

  6. Flighty says:

    Sinta most definitely! xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Oh dear, cap and wellies weather! I drove home from church with the air conditioner running in my car. Temps had cooled down to the mid 80s. Your rain would be quite welcome here! Though Minou would prefer not, as he had a lovely roll on the patio after lunch 🙂 Happy post-birthday, Flighty. How was your last day at the bookshop?

  8. daffy says:

    Well that was quite a birthday Flighty! I’m so glad you enjoyed it!
    Tonight you can start your relaxing phase after all the excitement with Autumnwatch, I’ll definitely be keeping up with it myself.
    I’m not sure that I am doing the novel writing yet. I keep to-ing and fro-ing so I’ll just see what happens on the day.
    We had an ok Sunday, weather-wise it was sunny but cold. This morning it’s dry and blowing a hoolie!
    My husband and I filled all the bird feeders yesterday after seeing a record, 8 blue-tits on one feeder. I think they were trying to tell us to get the others filled up!
    Have a great week!

  9. Glo says:

    Good for you braving Soggy Sunday in your cap and boots! Fresh air is great as long as you’re dressed for the weather, and I’m sure the birds will appreciate having their stocks refilled. I’m intrigued by this month long writing project. A great idea to get the words flowing. I look forward to seeing how things progress with you and your fellow linked bloggers 🙂 Whenever I start writing, it seems to end up in a poem, and I don’t have the inclination to write 1800 lines of poetry a day! Maybe I could mix and match ~ next year ….

  10. Glo says:

    PS I love the pink rose photo with her dewy looking petals 🙂

  11. daffy says:

    Flighty, as I mentioned I did a lot of to-ing and fro-ing and daffy1 no longer exsists.
    I’m now under the username of TraceyC.

  12. Louise says:

    Yes Flighty, yesterday was a complete wash out. Our plans to cycle the next stage of the Downs Way were abandoned. What a contrast today is, I have a day off, and plan some gardening later, in my fleece of course! x

  13. Flighty says:

    Nikki and some people would like your weather here! Thanks.
    The bookshop is still open, and I was there today! Looks like another week or two, but will keep you posted! xx

  14. Flighty says:

    Daffy it was a most enjoyable day indeed!
    Yes I’m looking forward to Autumnwatch.
    I’m still thinking about it as well!
    Lucky you with the weather yesterday, today has been a lot better here.
    It seems that the birds are certainly using the feeders a lot more now than just a few weeks ago.
    Thanks, you too! xx

  15. Flighty says:

    Glo it was good to get out for a while even in weather like that!
    I’m going to have to decide if I’m going to try and do it over the next couple of days.
    The rose photo is better than I thought it would be!
    xx

  16. Flighty says:

    Daffy hello again! I wondered where you’d gone to over there! I’ve added the new one now! xx

  17. Flighty says:

    Louise it was good sofa flying weather! Today has been better but somewhat chilly! xx

  18. Harry says:

    Reading the opening few words, I was getting worried….has he nothing in the fridge or cupboard….he’s going on to the plot to eat the birdseed!

    I suppose these will be the last photos as the weather seems to be breaking down now as we get an Arctic blast!

  19. Flighty says:

    Harry if I’d been getting something for myself I probably wouldn’t have bothered. I’m not got that desperate (yet!).
    There’s nearly always something to take photos of, even through the winter. Cheers.

  20. Ellie says:

    Oh, wasn’t it horrible? I’m not sure it’s any better now we’ve got frost but at least it was lovely this morning.

    I’ve been putting food out for the birds for a month or so now, but they aren’t taking it. I’ve tried a different place (to avoid trampling plants) but they definitely prefer the bay hedge as cover when feeding.

    Keep warm!

  21. Flighty says:

    Ellie it sure was! It was the same here this morning but I just heard some thunder and it’s now pouring with rain!
    I top my feeders up year round but just lately they’ve needed refilling pretty quickly.
    Thanks, you too! xx

Leave a Reply

