Autumnwatch…

starts next Monday  through to Thursday on BBC2 at 8.00pm ( note on Wednesday it starts at 7.00pm), then continues the following week.

This year it comes from a new location on Brownsea Island, off the coast near Poole, Dorset. The usual presenters Bill Oddie, Kate Humble, Simon King and Gordon Buchanan will be looking at wildlife such as red squirrels,  sika deer, avocets and grey seals.

Full details can be found on the excellent Autumnwatch website. You can also follow Martha Roberts daily blog entries on The Brownsea Blog on behalf of the National Trust.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Autumnwatch…

  1. I loved springwatch so count me in for autumnwatch too.

    The weather has been great this week with lots of sunshine, I hope you had some good weather too. Off to play with little Tara in the sunshine!

    Have a lovely weekend, Flighty. xxx

  2. Flighty says:

    Yolanda me too, so it’s something to look forward to over the next two weeks.
    Yes it’s been good here so I spent yesterday morning plotting, and will be there again tomorrow.
    Tara looks to be a real darling, have fun!
    Thanks, you too. xx

  3. Martha says:

    Hiya, I’m also going to be on Brownsea Island with Bill, Kate et al for Autumnwatch 2008 and will be blogging daily from there for the National Trust. Check it out! It’s all about to get a bit crazy… http://brownseablog.blogspot.com/

  4. Flighty says:

    Martha hello and welcome. That sounds like fun, have an enjoyable time.
    I’ll stop by your blog, which I’ve now mentioned in the entry, to see how you’re getting on!

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Yes, we’re in the midst of our own autumn watch. It’s called “fire season”… 😦 with red flag alerts, hot dry winds, dustydustydusty everything.

  6. Flighty says:

    Nikki I don’t like the sound of that at all! xx

  7. daffy says:

    Yay! but will we have time to watch all of it??

  8. Blueandtigger says:

    Well Flighty…. It’s been let out that it’s your birthday today. I won’t mention names though 😉 but what a lovely entry was done.

    Happy Birthday 🙂 I hope you had a really great day!

  9. Olivia says:

    Happy Birthday…a year went by too fast!

    Enjoy the autumn.

    Avocet really doesn’t sound like a bird, more like a wild cat or a mongoose. Probably because of the civet…

    xx

  10. Glo says:

    Wow! What a great program that will be! I managed to listen to the October podcast from your link to Martha Roberts and thoroughly enjoyed listening to it. Now I’ve put Brownsea Island on my list of places to visit! (I’ll wait until the BBC is done with it first, though 😉 Well, it is your birthday, although 3 a.m. (since it’s 7 p.m. here), so you will be getting up for your birthday breakfast in a few hours! Hope you have a lovely day and that the sun honours it and you with a bright shiny smile 🙂 I’ve left something for you on my blog site.

  11. Flighty says:

    Blueandtigger hello and thanks! My day has got off to a great start thanks especially to Daffy, Nikki and Glo (Porcelain Rose).
    Thanks again, and hugs! xx

  12. Flighty says:

    Liv thanks, and yes it has flown by yet again!
    If the forecast is right it’s looking rather wintry next week!
    It is an unusual name, for what is a rare and unusual bird.
    Thanks again, and hugs! xx

  13. Flighty says:

    Glo I listened to it last night, and like you enjoyed it. It’s a brilliant idea to do the blog and podcasts as they are
    I wasn’t up that early as it’s started dark and wet this morning! However thanks to Daffy, Nikki and you my morning has got off to a great start.
    Thanks again, and hugs! xx

  14. Flighty says:

    Daffy I nearly missed you tucked away there!
    I’m sure that we’ll make the time. Hugs! xx

  15. Louise says:

    Thanks for the reminder Flighty. My new hours mean I have to work late on a Wednesday. I just hope I am home in time for the 7.00 start. I hope my train isn’t delayed! x

  16. Flighty says:

    Louise you’re welcome! I find rather annoying when they change the time like that. I hope that you get home in time, if not then you’ll have to catch up via the website. Take care! xx

Leave a Reply

