Mostly chatting!

My last two plot visits, last Sunday and the previous Thursday, were in lovely warm sunshine!

On the Thursday I saw my plot neighbour Irish Brian who I don’t see often as he’s generally there a couple of week-day mornings when I’m not!

Later on I strolled along to see Trevor who was happy to sit and have a chin-wag about allotmenteering, wildlife and the world at large. It was time well spent as his advice is always helpful.

Last Sunday it was dull first thing so I went plotting after an early lunch, by which time it was warm enough to walk there in shirt-sleeves. I’d not been there long when John the bee-keeper wandered over and asked if I’d mind help to move and erect a large shed that he’d acquired.

With four of us, and John being well organised and prepared, it was shifted and put up fairly easily, quickly and without any problems.Β  Whilst doing that I asked him about his bees as I noticed that he’s now got several hives and there were plenty of bees coming and going across where we were working! Apparently it hasn’t been a good year.

Graham, who has the next but one plot, was sorting out his dahlias manyΒ  of which had been badly affected by the rain and cold nights earlier that week. He called across to say finish up what I was doing and stroll over to Joe’s seating area for a beer and a chat with everyone.

A pleasant of couple of hours were spent with John the bee-keeper, his wife Mary who makes prize winning preserves, her dad, Graham, Joe, Dee, Trevor, the other John and a few others who just stopped by to say hello or goodbye.

Afterwards I remembered to take these few photos on the plot as I knew that I wouldn’t be there again until today by which time they’d probably be gone!

The rose Valentine Heart 1) and 2) managed another flourish, and one of the multi-headed Sunflowers Autumn Beauty 3) finally bloomed

1) 2)Β  3)

A wonderful Californian Poppy 4), some Poached Egg Plant flowers 5) and when I was taking down the runner beans I found these Sweet Peas 6) hidden away among them!

4) 5) and 6)

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Mostly chatting!

  1. VP says:

    It sounds like you have a lovely community on your allotment site – fantastic.

    Sadly we can’t keep bees on our plots – animals aren’t allowed 😦

    I’d love to have some bee hives.

  2. Jennyta says:

    What a lovely way to spend a day. I have thought of applying for an allotment myself but I’m not sure that I’d have the time to devote to it and I certainly don’t have the knowledge to grow much. πŸ™‚

  3. Flighty says:

    VP there a few people I never see or who don’t mix but the rest are a great crowd to know!
    That’s not on is it! xx

  4. Flighty says:

    Jenny it was a good afternoon. We could have done with a few more like during the summer!
    It is the time that you need, at least a few of hours a couple of times a week. I’m not very knowledgeable so I read a book or two, look at websites and ask my plot neighbours.
    Have a go at growing anything you want as you may be surprised at how well you do, and if not then try something else. Above all give it a go and enjoy what you do! xx

  5. daffy says:

    Lovely chatty entry and some lovely pictures too!
    Nice to gaze at and remember the summer that never was! hehe
    Mentioning Irish Brian makes me laugh as it reminded me of my dad and one of his little quirks. When he is telling his ‘tales from the pub’ The character list reads like a fictional novel! Whispering Dave, Guesthouse Jimmy, Irish Mick, Plumber Mick and Fisherman Fred. (All real people I promise!)
    Have a great rest of the day! xx

  6. Flighty says:

    Daffy thanks! It’s been better weather, and I’ve seen more people there, in the last month or so than most of the spring and summer.
    He’s known as Irish as he has a real brogue and John can never remember his name so calls him that!
    It’s funny how people acquire such names isn’t it!
    Thanks, you too! xx
    PS typos amended and other comment deleted as requested!

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Roomie and I were just talking about how nice it is for you to have an allotment and built-in friends so near your home. Loving all the late flowers you discovered as well πŸ™‚

  8. Flighty says:

    Nikki I wondered why my ears had gone warm earlier on! I feel lucky indeed to have both.
    I was there this morning for a short while and it looks like that’s just about it for this year.
    I also picked the very last runner beans and had them for dinner. xx

  9. Glo says:

    Thanks for introducing us to your plot friends! Were the dogs there too? I wonder if crafty Fox Newton took the opportunity when you were all seated at “Joe’s Bar”, to have a sniff around the plots… As said above, it is fortunate that they are a helpful and friendly bunch, and of course having allotmenteering in common, there will be much to talk about, although weather, I’m sure, often tops the list! Nice to see some colourful flowers bridging the seasons.

  10. Blueandtigger says:

    Sounds like a great way to spend a day! πŸ™‚

    I have to get the garden ready for winter soon. I keep putting it off but the temperatures have fallen quite low this week so I have to get to it soon!

  11. Flighty says:

    Glo I thought that it was about time I did! No the girls weren’t there. You could be right about Fox doing that.
    Yes they’re a really friendly crowd who clearly enjoy a chat and a laugh. Talking about the weather is probably at top of all gardeners lists! There’s still plenty of flowers on some plots but not on mine! xx

  12. Flighty says:

    Blueandtigger hello, it’s good to see you back again! It certainly was very enjoyable.
    In view of our dreadful summer we’re wondering what the winter will be like here. I read that it’s forecast to be relatively dry and mild, so I expect that it’ll be anything but that! xx

  13. Olivia says:

    It’s really nice that you can spend time with people who share the same interests as you. It’s like a taste of the good old days in an age when people can live on the same street for 20 years and not know their neighbours.

  14. Flighty says:

    Liv it is indeed! You’re so right as I know my plot neighbours better in a year than my home ones after many years! xx

  15. Louise says:

    It’s great to have so many blooms still flowering. I still have lots of nasturtiums and marigolds on the patch. Maybe you could try beekeeping? If I ever get my plot in the country I may even give it a try, even though I don’t like honey! x

  16. Flighty says:

    Louise hello, it certainly is!
    I’ll leave that to John the bee-keeper. I’m happy just to grow flowers that his bees like. I not keen on honey either! xx

  17. Tina says:

    Well! What a wonderful entry.
    πŸ™‚
    You know, it made me think a bit about us ‘over here’ having our gardens as opposed to ‘over there’ and the plots. We’re missing out, Flighty! The social side doesn’t even come into play when you have a backyard garden. It’s just . . . boring!
    If I want to talk growing, I have to get in the car, on the phone or jump on the internet. (well, except for the hubster).
    How wonderful it must be to sometimes be ‘chatty’ while you grow and bounce ideas and theories off each other in such a calm and friendly environment.
    I get to talk to the birds and bitch at the vermin. lol.

  18. Flighty says:

    Tina hello and thanks! It’s far more usual to see only one or two people, or during the week none at all.
    It is nice to chat like this now and again, and to be there some days working with just the wildlife for company.
    Take care! xx

Leave a Reply

