That and this*

One new TV series that’s worth a mention is Stephen Fry in America. The first programme 1/6. The New World was shown last Sunday evening on BBC1 and is being shown again Saturday on BBC2 at 7.10pm. The second in the series is on Sunday BBC1 at 9.00pm. Maureen on her excellent Brilliant Britain blog did this review entry, with related links, which tells you all about it.

Starting this evening on C4 at 8.00pm is River Cottage Autumn in which Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall harvests and cooks the best that autumn has to offer. This first of four programmes is being repeated Saturday C4 at 7.00pm.

Last Sunday I mentioned that it was LAPCPADPOUB day, and Yolanda, not surprisingly, really went to town with her entry! She also made this comment on my entry, and in response to her challenge I have found this purrfect poem by Brian Patten in his book of children’s poety Juggling with Gerbils.

Itchy Cat by Brian Patten

Itchy cat, itchy cat where have you been?

To Buckingham Palace to sniff the Queen.

Itchy cat, itchy cat why do that?

Because I was chasing a right royal rat.

But I was polite and I said please,

And I came home with superior fleas.

Have a good weekend!

[* I couldn’t think of a title for this entry so I’ve borrowed this one from Daffy with thanks!]

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to That and this*

  1. Sinta says:

    I am really looking forward to River Cottage Autumn tonight πŸ™‚ I loved all the River Cottage series and it’s a joy to watch. I hope I get back in time after bringing my kitty to the vets. I’ve seen an episode of Stephen Fry in America and I quite enjoyed it ^_^ It wasn’t the normal anti-America or love-always-America. It was quite a balanced view. I’m actually interested in visiting now.

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Cute poem, Flighty! And a borrowed title is just as good on your blog as Daffy’s πŸ™‚

  3. Maureen says:

    I love the poem, Flighty! And thanks for the link to my post about the programme, Stephen Fry in America.

  4. Flighty says:

    Sinta so am I, although I shall probably watch the repeat on Saturday.
    I think, indeed hope, that many people’s view of America will be more reasonable once they’ve seen the programmes! xx

  5. Flighty says:

    Nikki isn’t it! Thanks, and I’m sure that she won’t mind. xx

  6. Flighty says:

    Maureen I’m glad you like it! You’re welcome! xx

  7. daffy says:

    You nick my title and I don’t even get a link???
    *rolls eyes*
    :o)
    Love the poem but it’s got me scratching now!
    I’ve no time for telly at the moment… no time for leisure activities unless they involve driving, my dad, my son, cooking, ironing….
    Have a great weekend!
    Nikki erm, ‘scuse me missus, my title wasn’t borrowed! I made it up all on my own thankyouverymuch. ;o)

  8. daffy says:

    haha! I see I’m linked! :o) xx

  9. Flighty says:

    Daffy forgive the oversight, which has now been corrected!
    That poem’s a bit like that isn’t it!
    I think that what Nikki has said isn’t quite what she meant!
    Thank, you too! xx

  10. Flighty says:

    Daffy of course you are (now)! xx

  11. VP says:

    NB Yolanda’s entry was a winning one πŸ™‚

    Great poem!

    xx

  12. Flighty says:

    VP it well deserved to be!
    Thanks! xx

  13. daffy says:

    :o) I know that Flighty, I’m just pulling her leg. ;o)
    Oh! Well look at that! I’m linked! :o)

  14. Flighty says:

    Daffy okay! Yes you’re well and truly linked! xx

  15. Lisa says:

    Too cool! Stephen Fry in America. He picked some interesting things to do. I would have liked to have gone to Vermont and found that Oatmeal Cookie ice cream they make that I can *never* find. πŸ™‚

  16. Olivia says:

    Ooh I would love to see “Stephen Fry in America” – two things that I love! πŸ˜‰

    “Itchy Cat” sort of reminds me of the famous “Smelly Cat” song composed by Phoebe in “Friends”.

    xx

  17. Flighty says:

    Lisa that was just the first of six programmes so I wonder what else he’ll do!
    That ice cream sounds yummy! xx

  18. Flighty says:

    Liv I hope that you get to see over there later on!
    Oh yes, I remember that song! xx

  19. I’ve already underlined Stephen Fry in the US and how I wish I could get C4 but I can’t. sniff!

    Flighty, thanks for the wonderful poem, it was fun and it made me laugh out loud. Always a plus, don’t you think, when you can make people laugh. So thanks, also for the kind mention of my post on your blog!

    Have a great weekend! xxx

  20. Flighty says:

    It’s good to know that you can see one of them!
    I’m glad that you liked the poem, it made me laugh as well! You’re welcome.
    Thanks, you too! xx

  21. Olivia says:

    It may eventually make it onto BBC America. Turns out my mother watched it with her sister so I asked her what it was like, and she started a sentence about it but interrupted herself with a rant about how bored she is of the Brits going on about how much they hate America! Hehe. xx

  22. Was first introduced to Stephen Fry by my parents who enjoy the Jeeves and Wooster films so much. Fry and Laurie are such an entertaining ensemble and play off one another to perfection. I was interested to learn from your post that Fry is making a film, surprisingly, about the US. Perhaps one day it will be out on DVD. I am sure I would like to see it. I haven’ traveled through the States as much as I would like. I sometimes wish that I could take a couple of months and drive through various states to take advantage of the beautiful scenery. There is still a lot of open space over here but I don’t see much of it from Orange County!

  23. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere those films were good adaptations of the very popular books.
    I hope that this series will help to redress the view that many people here now have of America. That’s due to the government and not the vast majority of the people who are just good, honest ordinary folk.
    I can understand you wanting to see more of what is a beautiful country. xx

  24. Flighty says:

    Liv let’s hope so as I’m sure that it would as popular a series there as here.
    See my comment to Beginninghere about people’s view here at present! xx

  25. Ellie says:

    Lots of really interesting links, Mr. F – thanks! It’s a long time since I’ve had so many interesting TV programmes to watch. I really enjoy watching Stephen Fry, whatever he’s in.

    And – though I am a dog lover, as you probably know by now! – that poem made me laugh so much. I think Dog could do with some superior fleas right now. x

  26. Glo says:

    Love the Itchy Cat poem πŸ˜‰
    We used to have gerbils when the boys were young, although luckily by the sounds of it, we didn’t juggle them about!

    Here’s Brian Patten’s Juggling with Gerbils

    Don’t juggle with a gerbil
    NO matter what the thrill
    For gerbils when they’re juggled
    Can end up feeling ill.
    It makes them all bad tempered
    And then they’d like to kill
    Those gerbil juggling jugglers
    Juggling gerbils till they’re ill.

    Here’s a profile of Brian Patten:
    http://www.contemporarywriters.com/authors/profile/?p=auth03C11L021212635163

  27. Flighty says:

    Ellie it’s good that you find the links of interest. As you say it’s always worth watching his programmes.
    I appreciate that you’re a dog lover but it’s good to know you liked this poem. xx

  28. Flighty says:

    Glo I thought you might! I was never good at juggling, and as for doing it with gerbils…!
    Brian Patten’s poems appeal to children of all ages. Thanks for quoting that hilarious poem and for the link. xx

Leave a Reply

