Plot plants ~ Globe Artichoke

In complete contrast to last weeks dainty Linaria I’m featuring one of the larger single plants on the plot.

It is the globe artichoke that is growing next to the log pile and stands around four foot high. There are two heads on it, both of which I’m letting flower then seed. It’s an impressive looking plant and this head is about the size of a tennis ball, and loved by insects including the bee that’s visible.

Daffy, and others, might be interested to know that, apparently, it is a plant that rabbits do not eat!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Plot plants ~ Globe Artichoke

  1. Louise says:

    I must find space for one of these in my garden, it is so impressive. I can imagine it looks great on your plot. I love your idea of Plot Plants, by the way. x

  2. Flighty says:

    Angelfeet it certainly catches the eye, and bees love it! xx

  3. Flighty says:

    Louise one of my catalogues says that it’s a noble plant worthy of a place in any border.
    Thanks, I thought that it was a good way of doing specific, rather than general, plant entries. xx

  4. VP says:

    Lovely. Note to self – must grow some
    xx

  5. Flighty says:

    VP it seems to be a popular plant on allotments! xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Now that is one spectacular bloom, Flighty. About how tall does it get? I’ve seen small fields of it (grown for eating, however) and have been struck by the amazing grey spiky foliage.

  7. Flighty says:

    Nikki isn’t it just! Generally about four foot. The leaves are more green than grey at this time of year.

  8. nikkipolani says:

    I bet it makes a striking centre-point in the garden. Do they multiply on their own? Will you have a patch of them eventually?

  9. Olivia says:

    ooooOOOOOOOOoooooohhh! I’ve never seen an artichoke in bloom before. It’s stunning! Thanks for sharing. xx

  10. Flighty says:

    Nikki I’m sure that it does, but I don’t think that I’ve ever seen one used like that.
    Plants from seed is possible but they usually multiply by offsets (rooted suckers). I hope to end up with a small patch of them. xx

  11. Flighty says:

    Olivia I’m not surprised as the heads are usually removed for cooking just before the fleshy scales open.
    You’re welcome! xx

  12. Ellie says:

    They certainly are beautiful flowers, and spectacular plants. Aren’t they the ones that bees love, or am I confusing it with something similar?

  13. Flighty says:

    Ellie they are indeed! Yes bees certainly do love them. xx

  14. I love Linaria, Flighty. Haven’t grown any for some years now. That artichoke is startling. I don’t think I have ever seen one bloom. The height on it is a nice addition for a garden.

  15. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere I shall definitely be growing it again next year.
    It is, and isn’t often seen blooming. It’s a good plant to add height to a garden. xx

  16. Sinta says:

    That’s pretty amazing! I’d grow that just for that display ^_^

  17. Flighty says:

    Sinta it certainly is! Why don’t you do that? xx

Leave a Reply

