Pottering and pondering

is really all I did at the plot during the two visits that I made there last week.

The Valentine Heart rose, on Nikki’s corner, is now blooming profusely and smells lovely!

The Pretty Lady is not far behind but I can’t smell this one’s fragrance at all!

Yesterday’s Independent had this interesting article all about flower scents.

Joe gave me four runner bean plants that are growing well

Among the seeds Mildew gave me back in February which I mentioned here were broad beans andΒ  runner beans Painted Lady

I think that this is a sunflower,Β  which as you can see has been nibbled by something!

I wasn’t the only one pondering on Friday afternoon as I found out when I checked the pond!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Frog ponderings. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Pottering and pondering

  1. simplelsie says:

    It’s ever a conundrum to me: am I irritated with the creatures whose habitat I’m imposing my presence on when they help themselves to a bit of the produce? Or do the beasties earn their nibble by how much I enjoy having them scampering through the place?

    Well, in the case of slugs and creepy crawlies, it’s not hard to decide which side of the flora vs. fauna question I favor.

    I love your frog; are you sure you wouldn’t like to trade him for a chipmunk (or three or four)?

  2. nikkipolani says:

    It’s lovely to see so much progress in your plot, Flighty, now that summery weather is here. “Rose blooming profusely” is many a gardener’s dream! And that’s an excellent snap of Froggy. Has he any froggy friends, I wonder?

  3. Flighty says:

    Simplelsie with the exception of slugs and pigeons I don’t generally mind. Some plot neighbours seem to be constantly battling with all the wildlife!
    Sorry but I love him too, and I think that chipmunks are probably as bad as squirrels which can be a real problem! xx

  4. Flighty says:

    Nikki I’ve just come back from there and it’s surprising what’s changed since Friday! I’ll be deadheading the rose next week, but there’s plenty more buds on it.
    Thanks! We’ll only know that if I see more than one, which really would surprise me. xx

  5. Liv says:

    Pottering and pondering are perfect Sunday afternoon occupations.

    I must say, Froggy looks quite distinguished in that photo.
    xx

  6. cafecortado says:

    Beans hey? Much underrated, in my opinion! Certainly very good for the constitution, or so I’ve been led to believe! Regards..

  7. Flighty says:

    Liv they are indeed! He does doesn’t he! xx

  8. Flighty says:

    Cafecortado broad and runner but no French ones!
    Fair enough. I like them all, and of course baked beans! Cheers.

  9. Louise says:

    Give us your spare runners! My runner bean plants are not doing well at all. The seed company I bought them from will be getting a letter of complaint. The summer squashes are struggling too. The only consolation in my garden at the moment is I have a glut of strawberries, lots of redcurrants to pick, a handful of gooseberries and raspberries ripening. Not all bad on the patch! x

  10. Glo says:

    Flighty, that first rose is exquisite! Picture perfect… The other is lovely also. Look at all of your lovely beans. But of course the picture of sweet little Frog Newton himself steals my heart πŸ™‚ Did you know Frog has a Canadian cousin…check my blog entry! Well done with the gardening, and your photography too!!!

  11. Glo says:

    Back again ~ Just read that interesting and comprehensive link on flower scents… losing the sense of smell is hard to imagine , but there is some treatment for people who can have polyps removed which are a common cause, as well.

    “Many of the most heavily scented flowers are white. Think of mock orange, summer jasmine, madonna lilies, gardenia, lily of the valley, Trachelospermum jasminoides, choisya, Nicotiana sylvestris.” That’s quite true, when you think about it, and I have noticed that the yellow variety of some flowers have stronger scents…yellow pansies, yellow wallflowers, etc. Thanks for the link…

  12. Mildew says:

    That frog is amazing! So lovely. Nice picture too.

    Glad the seeds are growing! I hope they produce some food for you!

  13. I would love to grow beans. The plants look healthy and promising. I bet you’ll have a nice crop! A vegetable garden is very satisfying I think. Wish I had space for one. The valentine heart rose is lovely and an added bonus is the sweet scent. I do like scented roses. Very nice, Flighty!

  14. Flighty says:

    Louise I certainly would if I could! It’s not all bad news I see! xx

  15. Flighty says:

    Glo thanks! Let’s hope they produce some lovely pods as well.
    I knew the frog photo would! I ‘ve seen your one as well and will comment later.
    Thanks again! xx
    .
    I’m glad that you found the link interesting, as indeed are your own observations. xx

  16. Flighty says:

    Mildew I was so pleased to see him again and get another, and better, photo!
    So am I, and I’m sure that they will (fingers crossed). xx

  17. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere I’m just pleased with anything that grows this year and I’m finding the whole plot satisfying! You only need a tiny space or some containers!
    It sure is a lovely rose to look at and smell. Thanks! xx

  18. VP says:

    It’s all looking good Flighty! I’ve found a frog on the allotment too – a very fat one in the strawberry bed. And guess what? No slugs in the strawberries – result!

  19. Flighty says:

    VP many thanks! That’s good news!
    I picked a few of mine yesterday and noticed that one or two had been nibbled, possibly not by slugs though as I’ve found very few on the plot so far, thankfully! xx

  20. daffy says:

    Looking wonderful Flighty! Hard work paying dividends by the look of your great photographs!

  21. Flighty says:

    Daffy thank you kindly! The plot as a whole is looking rather green and brown with a few bright spots but I’m well pleased regardless.
    It’s the first plotiversary next weekend when I’ll be doing the first of two celebratory entries! xx

  22. Maybe I can convince Nikki to try some beans somewhere in a big pot. Fresh beans are so yummy good!

  23. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere I sure that won’t she need much convincing! What beans are you thinking of trying? I ask as we grow broad, french and runner beans over here all of which are known by different names over there! xx

  24. Ellie says:

    Oh, Mr. F. I am so jealous of your frog(let) – nothing but snails so far in my pond!

    Interesting article on scent – and I completely agree about scented roses. Yours look lovely – I’ve not come across those varieties before and I must hunt them down.

  25. Flighty says:

    Ellie the least I can do share him here with everyone! Fingers crossed that you’ll have some next year.
    My sense of smell isn’t very good unfortunately! I got these from
    http://www.apuldramroses.co.uk/
    where a friend of mine has been buying hers from for years, and recommended them. xx

  26. Flighty, I am going to have to educate myself. I don’t know the name. I only know that my aunt grows them in her garden in Illinois. Or at least, she used to. Nikki might know what would grow best. I don’t think I really care which kind as they probably all taste good fresh. Do you have a recommendation?

  27. I love reading your entries, I’ve learnt a lot with you and all my blogger friends. Guess what? I’ve never seen ” nibbled” until today. It’s nice to improve my vocabulary. Besides, you have shared many interesting sites with us, Independent’s article about flower scents is really very interesting. Ahhhh… and the people I have found here, I’ve just looked in on Mildew and I’m going there again.

    Hugs, my friend. Please, tell Mr. Frog I sent him a kiss. (He might be a Charming Prince lol)

  28. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere I don’t know very much about vegetable growing either! I think that you’ll need to try and find out what varieties grow well there in containers. I’ll let you know if I find any in my books and catalogues that look suitable! xx

  29. Flighty says:

    Lady-drid hello! That’s very kind of you to say so, which adds to pleasure that doing this gives me.
    It’s always good to look at interesting sites and other nice blogs!
    Thanks for the hugs, which are always appreciated.
    I’ll tell Frog when I next see him!
    Take care, and hugs! xx

Leave a Reply

