Week 2

Monday I didn’t work as I was having the car looked at. Thankfully it was a minor problem, easily sorted and didn’t cost much.

So after lunch I spent a couple of hours digging and weeding, stopping once, for five minutes, to shelter from a fairly hefty shower.

I went home when the skies became very leaden for a well deserved cup of tea and a biscuit or three. It turned out to be a wise move as it later rained cats and dogs !

Thursday it was more of the same workwise. I stopped to eat an apple whilst watching white butterflies flitting around and bumble bees on the white clover.

You can tell that I’m not used to doing this kind of work as I got a blister on my left thumb, despite wearing gloves and taking it very easy!

One of the really nice things about allotmenteering is chatting with fellow plot holders. Everyone says hello, some chat for longer and there are absolutely no pretensions which I find so refreshing.

So another week when I’ve made good, steady progress as you can see  sscn0147.jpg

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Week 2

  1. LC says:

    Thank you for the directions over to your plot.

    I’m looking forward to seeing how the place grows and what you have in mind for it.

    I hope you’ve got a comfortable chair picked out so that you have someplace nice from which to enjoy the view.

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Love that image of a peaceful pause while admiring white butterflies. And how nice that you’re making some new friends 🙂

  3. Jason says:

    Hope you enjoy your bimbling Flighty!!

    I bet you can’t wait to sample some of your own produce!!

  4. flightbuff says:

    LC hello! So am I, but as what I have in mind keeps changing at present.
    An area for a chair to relax and enjoy the view is at the top of the list!

  5. flightbuff says:

    Nikki a short break like that makes it all worth while. It appears that allotmenteers are nice friendly folk!

  6. flightbuff says:

    Jason I do and will, I wouldn’t do if not! You’re right but that will be next year!

  7. BluePixel says:

    There’s something very self gratifying about standing back, fork in one hand, flask of tea in the other while surveying a plot well tilled. It kind of fills your soul with goodness… And it’s best done before your back seizes up and you can’t stand up straight again !!!! =:o)
    Nice one Flighty !!!

  8. flightbuff says:

    BluePixel I like the sound of my soul being filled with goodness, but not getting a seized back! I’ll do my very best to ensure the former and avoid the latter.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

