And what is colour like?

Flighty's flowersYou may remember that back in April I mentioned doing a guest post A Good Cause for the wonderful Living Paintings charity

I did another one Garden Jewels in late June, that I forgot to mention, and have just done a third one And what is colour like?

As you’ll see this latest one includes a poem which I did as a post on my long gone blog BookBuffs for National Poetry Day 6th October 2005!

It’s still been too hot to plot this week but I have been there daily after breakfast for a short while, and picked the first few runner beans today. More on that in my next post on Sunday.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in A good cause, Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to And what is colour like?

  1. nikkipolani says:

    And a terrific photo, too!

  2. CJ says:

    I’ll get to reading it at once. CJ xx

  3. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Lovely post thank you for sharing have a blessed afternoon

  4. Beautiful picture. Not much colour in my garden at the moment. I find myself torn between my garden and writing. I guess I want it all. Wow, to be able to pick runner bean. Mine have only just stared to flower. It’s too hot though I was busy trimming my garden and sweeping the drive. I do like to keep my garden tidy. I know, I’m odd. Thank you for your comment on my blog.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula thanks. That’s a shame. I guess that both are time consuming so one is bound to suffer. I was really surprised to find a few runner beans. It sure has been warm hasn’t it. You should leave a small area a bit untidy for the wildlife. You’re welcome. xx

  5. snowbird says:

    Lovely to hear you are putting your writing skills out there! I know what you mean about the heat, I can’t get anything done, it takes me all my time to get the hose pipe out, it really is hot isn’t it.xxx

  6. Jo says:

    Lovely posts and a beautiful poem. Yellow and white were never my favourite flower colours, but they’re right up there now, I don’t even know how or when my opinions changed but they’re amongst my favourites now. I don’t think it will be long until I’m picking my runner beans now, I ate the first of the French beans on Monday, delicious they were too.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo thanks. I didn’t like blue as a flower colour but do now. Like you I wonder how or why opinions change. You must be looking forward to that. I’ve had a couple of lots of dwarf French beans. xx

  7. menhir1 says:

    What a great visual choice to depict your title. Really, what is there to write, the picture is worth at least a thousand words! Xx

  8. you and Elaine would make a lovely team for gentle prose

  9. elaine says:

    Great poem Flighty – thanks for sharing it again. You are right – it’s too hot to plot but everything is coming along nicely.

  10. Caro says:

    As gardeners and nature lovers, our lives are filled with colour – it’s good to consider how it must be for others who have lost one or more of the five senses. As I read the poem you shared, I thought of how colours are attributed with different emotions and have different meanings from one culture to another. A good and thoughtful way to start the day, thank you. C x

  11. Chloris says:

    Love your poem. Have you heard of synesthesia where certain people are neurologically wired so that they can feel, taste and hear colour? Somehow all their 5 senses are connected. I would love to talk to someone who experiences this.

Leave a Reply

