Too hot to plot

My last visit was a brief one on Thursday morning since when it’s been noticeably hot and humid, and also rather wet at times.

I was pleased to see the first of the white cosmos and another sunflower.

White cosmos  Another sunflower

Earlier in the week I finally got to photograph a Gatekeeper butterfly.

Gatekeeper butterfly on blackberry bush

Don’t forget that the Big Butterfly Count started yesterday and continues through to Sunday 10th August.

Temperatures look like continuing in the high 20’s C (around 80F)  for most of the coming week so it looks like I won’t be doing more than essential watering and looking round.

Stay cool and have a good week!

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Too hot to plot

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Lovely post thank you for sharing have a blessed week

  2. nikkipolani says:

    Ah, I see we’ve swapped weather for a few days — or so it seems. It was overcast yesterday with a few (too too few) drops of rain. The plants and cats appreciated it! I planted my cosmos late this year so they are much farther behind than yours! Funny that your high 20s is our low ;-)

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki as you know it’s weather that I really don’t like. Good to see that you had a respite. Cosmos here continue to flower well into autumn. I’m just glad it’s no hotter. xx

  3. Jo says:

    Beautiful photos. I’m waiting for my first sunflower to bloom at the plot, it’s got a good bud, just waiting for it to open up now. Gone seven here and I’m sat with the windows and doors open, it’s so blooming warm.

  4. CJ says:

    It’s so nice to see the flowers that will attract bees and butterflies blooming. My Flighty’s Favourites are doing beautifully, I was out photographing bees today. I never seem to be able to capture butterflies. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ nearly all my flowers attract bees and/or butterflies. That’s nice to know. I don’t find bees easy to photograph well. That’s a shame, they’re not easy that’s for sure. xx

  5. snowbird says:

    So pleased to see you have your white cosmos, I have lots too and I don’t think you can beat them. How wonderful that you have a gatekeeper there, wonderful little critter. I think butterflies are down this year, I haven’t seen many at all compared to other years.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird thanks, they’re certainly one of my favourites. There’s been lots of Gatekeepers the past couple of weeks. What a shame, I’ve seen more than usual so it’ll be interesting to see the results from the Big Count. xx

  6. elaine says:

    Hot, hot, hot – humid, humid, humid, sleepless nights and sweaty bodies – now I remember why I prefer spring. But it is good to see the summer flowers in all their glory.

  7. Carrie says:

    Your white cosmos are stunning and definitely going on my list for next year! You trend setter you :)
    I would take part in the butterfly count if they didn’t scare me… Ohhh I don’t like the way they flit about eek!

  8. Great title Flighty! Lovely photos too, I’m glad you have another sunflower. We’ve not had the very muggy weather you have been suffering, though I have been opting to garden in the front with the sea breeze. Stay cool and enjoy your butterflies and flowers. My cosmos has been a bit rubbish this year, very disappointing compared to last.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet thanks, on both counts. Me too, as I do like to see them on the plot. Lucky you, a sea breeze really does make a difference. I will. That’s a shame, and |I have to say that that mine aren’t as many as I’d hoped for. xx

  9. Chloris says:

    Here there seem to be more butterflies than ever. How do you do the butterfly count? I know it is 15 minutes but do you have to do it every day? And do you have to stay in one spot or can you move about the garden?

  10. Mo says:

    I had forgotten about the butterfly count – and we have been seeing lots over the past few days, thank you for the reminder!

  11. I completed the butterfly count earlier in the week and saw a huge amount of meadow browns and gatekeepers, more of those than last year I think. Love the beautiful cosmos and sunflower, so cheerful!

Leave a Reply

