I was a bit moochy…

last week which started badly and continued thanks to some rather indifferent, unsettled weather. I finally cheered up yesterday morning thanks to a lovely card I received which made me smile.  It had also brightened up after a dull start to the day so I went for a potter round the plot to have a good look at everything and think about what to do this coming week.

The first sunflower of 2014A vivid cosmos

Thanks to the snails I’m down to just three sunflowers, and this is the first flower on one of them.

I really prefer white Cosmos to this rather vividly coloured one.

How about this really lovely white Corn Cockle (Agrostemma githago Milas Snow Queen)

Corn Cockle,  white

Over by the log pile the Rosebay Willowherb and Teasels are both starting to flower.

Rosebay willow herb flowers  Teasel flower head

By the sweet corn I found this small, couple of inches high, plant with tiny yellow flowers growing which I couldn’t identify.

I wonder what this is

I posted the picture on the Friendly Gardeners group over on Facebook and quickly learnt that it’s Oxalis corniculata var. atropupurea, which most people seem to consider a rather invasive weed.

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

 

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to I was a bit moochy…

  1. Chloris says:

    Serious warning! Quickly! Rush over to your plot and dig that Oxalis up and destroy it. Don’ t put it on your compost heap. An invasive weed isn’t an adequate way of describing it. Think of mares’ tails, ground elder and bindweed all rolled into one innocent looking little plant. Hurry, it is already in flower.
    You grow that wonderful white corncockle. It is so beautiful, I grew it last year and everyone wanted to know what it was. It’ s absolutely gorgeous.

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris thanks warning heeded, I dug it up this morning and binned it.
      I’ll definitely be growing the white corn cockle again next year, it’s such a lovely flower. xx

  2. Mark Willis says:

    Re the Oxalis: I have a “domesticated” one, called “Burgundy Wine”, which has deep purple leaves and white flowers. It looks very nice, but knowing its ancestry I don’t trust it, and I keep it firmly contained in a pot!

  3. Caro says:

    A weed is only a plant in the wrong place! Like Mark, I have a purple oxalis, given to me last year, which I’ve planted into my herb garden and it’s behaving itself very nicely. So many plants are good at seeding themselves around: Corydalis lutea, that yellow flower that seeds itself all over London, is another that’s earned a bad reputation but is loved by many. If you like your oxalis, I’d keep a close eye on it (dig up any unwanted seedlings) but leave it be … but then I like flowers! Hope you have a better week this week – a little rain is good for garden!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I agree with that as I grow plenty of so-called weeds. I like what you say which I’m sure would have some gardeners shaking their heads in disagreement.
      Thanks, at least it’s off to a better start. xx

  4. menhir1 says:

    I wonder if snails avoid bright yellows? Maybe it’s a good reason as to why the one sunflower remains.

    There are a few weeds around that have very delicate and pretty flowers.

    • Flighty says:

      Menir it’s the leaves that they eat even when the plant gets quite big. They don’t seem to touch the flowers thankfully.
      Yes there are, and it’s a shame that we consider them to be weeds. xx

  5. I’m quite happy to have my Oxalis in my garden. I like its colour, leaves and flower. It’s in my sink garden, hanging basket on the wall and grows in the gaps on the patio. Anything which makes bees happy makes me happy ;-)

  6. Hello Flighty, glad to hear things have brightened up a little, and how nice too see your very own marigold mix behind the lovely corncockle. The oxalis does tend to spread like mad but you can always choose to see it as excellent ground cover, the yellow flowers are so pretty against the purple leaves. I have a mint barrel full of it and am just choosing to look the other way, the mint is more than up to the competition!

  7. Lovely post Flighty thanks for sharing and as someone has already said a weed is only wild flower in the wrong place and if the bees like then place it into a small pot were you would like it to grow have a blessed week

  8. lizard100 says:

    I have that weed too and didn’t realise it was bad. Thanks to the comments I now know I need to act fast!

  9. snowbird says:

    Oh wow, I do love your white corncockle, mine are pink and nowhere near as pretty. I can’t wait for next year when my teasel is flowering like yours. I don’t know much about your wildflower but some here think it to be invasive, maybe a pot eh? xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I’ve not grown the lilac-pink one this year but will grow both colours next year. The teasels are impressive looking plants. There’s certainly been some interesting comments about it. xx

  10. elaine says:

    I love the markings on that white corncockle – beautiful

  11. CJ says:

    The corncockle is beautiful, and such a lovely name as well. I’m glad you managed to get down to the plot in the end. There hasn’t been much rain here at all, I’ll have to water things this week I think. We’ve lost lots of sunflowers, although I do have a mini one at home, and there are a few left at the allotment. I hope you have a good week Flighty, I think it’s going to be nice and summery, so hopefully there will be some plotting done all round. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it sure is. Me too, a couple of hours there is always welcome. There’s not been that much rain here either. Shame about the sunflowers. Thanks, and you too. I think that you’re right so I’ll hopefully be doing lots of plotting. xx

  12. Carrie says:

    So sorry about your sunflowers but wow that white corncockle is a good visual cheer up. It’s so beautiful, I don’t think I have seen one before xx

  13. nikkipolani says:

    Too bad about the sunflowers, Flighty. Good thing you have plenty of other colors and pretties to enjoy. I’ll have you know, though, that your pot marigold seeds have started to pop up.

  14. I’m with you in the battle against the snails and slugs, Flighty. They’ve eaten most of my Dahlias, despite my nightly vigil to try and get them all! What a shame about your beautiful sunflowers. I found an oxalis seedling in one of my pots a while back and whipped it up quick, but yours looks quite pretty.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula hello. Thanks, it has been a dreadful year for them hasn’t it. A shame indeed as I was hoping for lots. I’ll be looking out for more now. xx

  15. Joanne says:

    I had that little weed last year in my veg patch, it can be a difficult little thing to get it out! A white corn cockle, how lovely. I had the normal purple ones but they have finished now. Have a good week.

  16. wellywoman says:

    At least you’re left with 3 sunflowers. Mine suffered at the hands of slugs too and I’m left with 2. ;) Love the white corncockle. Another to add to my list. x

  17. daffy says:

    You know I’m no gardener but I am glad the card helped you to smile! The flowers are pretty.

  18. daffy says:

    Glad! sorry Edit for me? Thank you

Leave a Reply

