On the short walk…

Hydrangea outside nearby flats

to and from the plot I pass this hydrangea which is outside one of the blocks of flats.

I’m surprised that it does so well given that it’s in a tiny patch of earth surrounded by concrete.

Just beyond where I turn off to head for the site gates there’s this even bigger one.

Pinky white Hydrangea

I mention and show both of these as they’re a plant I really like, and if I had a garden would certainly feature in it.

The plot hydrangeaA couple of weeks ago I acquired a small hydrangea that had been dug up and was going to thrown away. It hadn’t been done carefully being in two halves with not much roots.  I tidied it up before planting and watering.  This is what it looked like when I’d done that.

Since then, not surprisingly, it has lost most of its leaves and hasn’t been looking too good. So fingers crossed that it will survive and be okay, although if it does I doubt if it’ll ever be quite as magnificent as the ones above.

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to On the short walk…

  1. lizard100 says:

    I hope it improves soon.

  2. Marigold Jam says:

    Maybe it lost its leaves in order to conserve energy or something and once its roots are settled in it will improve. Let’s hope so.

    • Flighty says:

      Marigold hello. Plants can lose leaves when distressed like this or through lack of water. Hopefully the roots will grow and it will improve. Thanks. xx

  3. Mo says:

    We received a hydrangea as a house warming gift form the lady we bought the house from. It was lovely last year but is taking it’s time to bud this year. Hope yours survives :)

  4. Caro says:

    Hydrangeas in full bloom are certainly eye catching! I love the subtle colours as they fade at the end of the year. I don’t think you’ll know until next spring whether your adopted plant has survived when hopefully you’ll see new leaf growth and, at the moment, it’s busy putting down new roots. Fingers crossed and at least you’ll have tried!

  5. elaine says:

    What lovely huge blooms – hydrangeas need a lot of water – I can’t grow them because they don’t seem to like the soil round here – my friend grows all hers in huge pots for the same reason.

  6. nikkipolani says:

    You never know, Flighty. Hydrangeas are pretty resilient. I had dug up most of mine a few years ago, but a tiny remnant remained and is now a single stalk of about 2ft. So there’s a good chance you’ll get glorious blooms like the ones by the flats.

  7. snowbird says:

    Here’s to it coming back! They grow like weeds in my sandy soil, I even break bits off and stick them in the ground and they grow so I have high hopes for yours.xxx

  8. menhir1 says:

    It’s worth a try, those Hydrangeas can be hardy things. xx

  9. Carrie says:

    Those hydrangeas are incredible. Our front garden is only hydrangeas on mass with box in between (going to be cloud pruned). I can only hope they will be that flowery one day!

  10. wellywoman says:

    Fingers crossed your hydrangea survives. You could take some stem cuttings as a back up. I’m growing to love hydrangeas but only have one at the moment. ‘Limelight’ is a beautiful ivory white variety which I would highly recommend. Those hydrangeas near your home must be such a cheery site. x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly thanks’. I could but I think that I’ll leave it be and see how it does. That variety was one of my mum’s favourites. They sure are as otherwise it’s mostly concrete! xx

  11. I have one in my garden which isn’t doing very well so maybe I should move it. They remind me of my childhood. I seem to collect plants and flowers which do. :-) Must be my age LOL

    • Flighty says:

      Paula that’s a shame, and maybe you should. Me too as mum loved them and had several in the garden. I think that I’d be the same if I had a garden. I think that it’s more to do with fond memories. xx

  12. Hydrangeas are amazingly tough plants Flighty, mine seem to thrive in dry and sandy soil. Hopefully with some regular drenching with water and perhaps a bit of comfrey tea yours will settle in.

Leave a Reply

