M and N…

takes my very occasional Plot A to Z  series of posts past the half-way mark.

myosotisMalva sylvestris (Common mallow) often grows on the plot being something that appears to self-seed without any problems. I have grown myosotis (Forget-me-nots) in the past but they didn’t re-appear last year so I’ll have to sow some more.

I don’t grow marrows but if I had a greenhouse I would certainly try growing melons. The ones to try here in the UK are the F1 hybrids Century and Emir.

N sees no vegetables but plenty of flowers. The most prevalent are the various narcissus - which is the latin name of the genus regardless irrespective of the shape or size of the trumpet, with the common name daffodil restricted to varieties where the trumpet is as long, or longer, than the petals.  The coming weeks should see lots flowering on the plot, which are always a welcome sight just as I start plotting regularly again.  

I grow the annuals nemophila maculata Five Spot, nigella damascena (Love-in-a-Mist) and various colourful nasturtiums, which as well as looking good are also edible. 

nasturtiums-variousAccording to the Chiltern Seeds catalogue the latter is botanically Tropaeolum, whilst the unrelated Nasturtium is water cress! 

The most exotic plot plant has to be the nerine bowdenii, which flowers for my birthday if I’m lucky as I was in 2012.

[The next two posts in this series will both be about O and P, with the first being all about the onions and potatoes that I sow, grow and eat.]

Have a good week!  

Edited Monday, 10th February to include Glo’s (Porcelain Rose) delightful award -

M and N award

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to M and N…

  1. CJ says:

    What about “N” for nuts? I’d love a walnut one day, although I’m not sure I’ll ever have the space. Nerines are really striking, and at a time of year when you don’t expect to see something so exotic. I hope you have a good Sunday, despite the dramatic weather.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ I’d love a walnut tree too but we’re not allowed to grow trees on the plots. Nerines are as you say. Thanks it was an enjoyable armchair gardening/sofa flying sort of a day. xx

  2. Jo says:

    I didn’t know that about daffodils, I wondered what the difference between them and narcissus were. It’s a while since I’ve grown nasturtiums as they self seeded all over the garden and I’ve spent years trying to weed them out. They’re lovely flowers though, I just wish they’d stay where I want them.

  3. menhir1 says:

    Nasturtium is the most exotic floral looking water cress if that description is to be taken as stated. xx

  4. nikkipolani says:

    Well, that makes sense about nasturtiums — they are known to have a peppery bite. They make me sneeze, however, so I don’t grow them. But such easy and sunny and cheerful blooms, aren’t they?

  5. Chloris says:

    Nerines are good but what about Nicotiana? Lovely Niciotiana’Lime Green’ if you like green flowers like I do.

  6. Lovely post and thanks for sharing, have a blessed week as well.

  7. snowbird says:

    I had Forget-me-nots self seeding everywhere last year and lots more to come by the looks of it. Oh I am a fan of nasturtiums, they are so easy to grow and last for ages, I love the flowers too and often eat themxxx

  8. Glo says:

    I love both Forget-me-nots ~ which still seed from the plants that my mother planted at my old house many years ago ~ and nasturtiums that are so pretty. Here is your M N award, hidden in Many!

  9. elaine says:

    My beds are covered in fledgling forget-me-nots which I am leaving in situ for ground cover at the moment – I think they are helping the soil from being washed away – I do love the carpet of colour they provide intermingled with the spring bulbs. And as for Nasturtiums – well I wouldn’t mind a garden full of them – so cheery and obliging – though a little startling when mixed with the gentler colours in my garden.

  10. I adore forget-me-nots, and am really looking forward to seeing them flower again this year. I enjoy the peppery taste of nasturtiums, leaves and flowers, but was really disappointed with the way all the flowers were hidden by leaves this year. I think I’d better try some different ones this year!

  11. wellywoman says:

    Good to see all your flowery shots. I love forget me nots. Mine didn’t do too well last spring and I always forget they’re a biennial and miss the chance to sow them. I have spotted some self-sown ones though. Hopefully this spring will be a good year for them. Have you tried Nasturtium Black Velvet? It’s a trailing one but has the most gorgeous dark flowers.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ thanks. I sow few biennials, and always get confused with them. No I’ve not tried that particular nasturtium but will add it to the list for next year as I’ve more than enough for this year. xx

Leave a Reply

