Despite the unsettled weather…

and still too soggy ground I managed to do some plotting on a few mornings earlier in the week. Most pleasing of all was to be greeted by the sight of the first flowering crocuses.

White crocus

The new log under the hawthornSunday was both mild and sunny so I replaced the log under the hawthorn tree that had disintegrated due to a woodpecker searching in it for grubs.  The new one, seen here, is from a cherry tree and about the same size.

The dustbin lid pondI tidied up around the dustbin lid pond, and it also needs to be re-levelled which I’ll do sometime.  The bright green foliage are self-seeded poached egg plants (limnanthes douglasii), which bees and butterflies like.  The brown foliage are grasses that grow up around the pond to give some shade in the summer.

There were a couple of teasels alongside but they toppled over in the wind a couple of weeks ago. Thankfully I have some others growing over the over side by the log pile.

This is Major

Whilst working I met Major, a lively little character, that plot neighbour Trevor  was dog-sitting.

Other work included replacing the old mulch with new around the raspberries and, rather surprisingly, lightly hoeing off the weeds that had appeared on the flower patch.

Monday and Tuesday mornings were still sunny but noticeably cooler in the fresh wind.  In view of the forecast – cool, wet and windy – I don’t think that I’ll be doing much plotting again until at least next week.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image] 

And yesterday’s post over on Sofa Flying was The Soldier’s trilogy.

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Despite the unsettled weather…

  1. I also managed to get out for a few hours the other day. It gives you a lift to get something done during all this inclement weather.

  2. Joanne says:

    It sounds like you have been busy, I have a few purple crocus out here which is nice. Thankfully due to the mild weather the garden is pretty much weed free, for now. Have a good weekend too.

    • Flighty says:

      Joanne surprisingly so given the state of the ground. It’s nice to see crocuses, and I’ve lots more to come. Lucky you being weed free, it won’t last! Thanks. xx

  3. pianolearner says:

    Major looks like a perfect name for him.

  4. Lovely post I agree nice name for your friends dog he is looking after love the photo’s as well garden is quite muddy here managed to do some fruit pruning and I have a china lady rose out in flower in the front garden

  5. CJ says:

    Lucky you getting hold of that log. I’m on the lookout for wood to make a bit of a pile in the garden. I have a bit of drftwood, but I’m not sure if it’s quite the same if it’s soaked with salt. Good to hear you’ve been down at your plot. I’m still waiting for that dry spell…

    • Flighty says:

      CJ we have a couple of tree sturgeons who regularly give us wood chippings and, if asked, logs. I wouldn’t worry about the salt in the driftwood. Thanks. I’m not surprised, and I think that we all are now. xx

  6. Chloris says:

    How lovely to be able to get out and get on at last. You must be pleased. The sight of a crocus really lifts the spirits.

  7. Jo says:

    You managed to get plenty done, it’s amazing what a bit of sunshine does for us. Is your crocus Cream Beauty? She’s a beauty whatever her name. I haven’t seen any flowering around here yet but I don’t think mine will be long now. Major looks like a character, such a cute little face.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I did more than I thought I would. I don’t think so but I do have some of those to come. As you say it won’t be long before we all start seeing them flowering. He’s a lovely little dog. xx

  8. snowbird says:

    How lovely to see the first crocus! I have poached egg seedlings too, A pond, a log and poached egg seedling = a wonderful habitat for the wildlife!xxx

  9. Carrie says:

    Love your plot and thank you for the beautiful crocus photo and one of Major- I need them both in my life :) We aren’t allowed any sort of pond like feature on our plots, health and safety gone mad! There are so many other dangers all around than a little dust bin lid of water…… I may ignore the rules and be a rebel! xxx

  10. Annette says:

    Is this Cream Beauty? Lots of crocuses out here – they’re a joy! Have a good weekend too :)

  11. Zo says:

    That’s a beautiful crocus, lucky you! I’m so in love with Major, you can tell just from looking at him that he’s got a lot of character!!

  12. nikkipolani says:

    I see some winter sunshine across your pretty crocus. Nice to get some time on the plot and prepare for spring :-)

  13. elaine says:

    No crocus for me yet – it does seem a little early to have them showing, but how lovely. It is good that you have been able to have a little potter on your plot and keep ahead of the game. What a charmer Major is such a cutey.

  14. Glo says:

    Oh, what a pretty crocus! I had a quick look round the garden after reading this post, and found a couple of yellow crocuses growing in a flower pot in the window box! The dustbin lid pond is looking good, and the photo of Major took me back. When I lived on the prairies we had a dog called Susie, and one day she didn’t come to greet me when I came home from school. She had had puppies and was sitting with then in a box. We kept the dark one, looking much like the one in your photo, and called him Major!!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo pretty, a welcome sight and lots more to come. I don’t grow yellow crocuses as the birds eat them!
      I like your lovely story about Susie and Major, which is a name I’ve never heard used before. xx

  15. menhir1 says:

    That lively little species does not seem to mind the conditions at all. XX

  16. Love the crocus Flighty, such a welcome sight. We have to take all possible advantage of the few hours of sunshine at the moment don’t we. I look forward to having poached egg plant self seed around my garden, I didn’t manage to grow it at all last year, which is ridiculous, and purely down to me forgetting about them and failing to plant them out!

  17. lizard100 says:

    I really like the alphabet theme idea. Very different!

  18. Have you ever seen frogspawn in your dustbin lid pond, Flighty? xx

Leave a Reply

