The next few months

During last year I dug up most of the bulbs, sorted them then in the autumn replanted most of them along the top, roadside edge.  Inevitably I missed some, including the crocuses that I showed here last week,  so I’ll leave them to flower then dig them up before the foliage dies right back so that they can be replanted with the rest.

Plot bulbs - 1The crocuses will be the first to start flowering, followed by various narcissus and then the tulips.

I didn’t know what many of the bulbs were so I just sorted into similar looking groups, and I’ll be interested to see how well I did.

Some groups , like this one,  look okay but others are clearly a bit of a mix. I also planted some in containers.

These look like tulips

The yellow tulips that I grow last year were kept separate and replanted in a container, and I hope that they’re as good again this year.  However I also appear to have some others as this is a different container. 

All these will provide lots of welcome colour over the next few months.

Some people, such as Chloris, have already been enjoying looking at snowdrops. She’s a self-confessed fancier as you can see in her recent post Snowdrops! Snowdrops! Snowdrops!. There are lots of Great British Gardens that are open during this month where you can go and enjoy seeing snowdrops. 

Have a good week!

[Click on either picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The next few months

  1. Mark Willis says:

    That’s a familiar tale! This year I have a special treat to look forward to – the “Soleil d’Or” daffodil bulbs which I bought in the Isles of Scilly last Autumn. They will be flowering very soon.

  2. Joanne says:

    I spotted a few crocus in flower this morning on my stroll around the garden, the daffs are poking through too.

  3. I planted tulips and daffs for the first time this year and also have a few inherited bluebells in shady corner – I noticed a tulip leaf poking through yesterday! Surely too early? I’m reading Cuttings at the moment, a book of Christopher Lloyd’s columns for the Guardian; apparently they do (or did) the same with their bulbs at Great Dixter – the ‘unknowns’ were replanted in a row in a separate bed until they could be identified and later sorted into the right batch. Such a clever idea! I’m planning on visiting the Chelsea Physic Garden for their snowdrops when they open next week.

    • Flighty says:

      Caro there are some early tulips but I guess that the relatively mild weather has prompted them to appear now. Most of mine are unknown varieties but I just wanted to get a bit of uniformity. Enjoy the snowdrops. xx

  4. wellywoman says:

    It’s so good to see the bulbs poking through. I have lots of daffs showing now. I’m not sure about my tulips. The patch of ground they are planted in has standing water on it at the moment – not ideal conditions for tulips. Fingers crossed. Look forward to seeing your bulbs in flower over the coming months. x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ it sure is. I walk round when I get to the plot and look at mine specifically. I hope that your tulips are okay, that’s why I grow mine in containers. Thanks, me too. xx

  5. Jo says:

    It looks like you’re going to have a very colourful plot in spring. I planted all the bulbs I had grown in containers last year straight in to the garden after flowering and I’m pleased to see that they’re growing again this year, I’m looking forward to seeing them flower again.

  6. Chloris says:

    Thanks for the mention Flighty, how kind of you to mention my blog. It sounds as if you have lots of bulbs to take you through to the spring.It doesn’t really matter if some are mixed up.

  7. What a good idea Flighty. I’ve only recently realised that bulbs could be moved just like any other plant! I was so late planting my tulips – in pots – I doubt I will see even a leaf tip for a couple of months, but lots of other bulbs are beginning to make their presence felt. Always such an optimistic sight.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet thanks. I know several people who are forever moving their’s around. Even planted late the tulips will appear before too long. It is indeed. xx

  8. elaine says:

    You should have a lovely display – your bulbs are much more advanced than mine – I am so looking forward to seeing some colour in the garden.

  9. snowbird says:

    Lovely to see your bulbs coming up. It should be rather fun to see what the mixed up batch throws up.Oh roll on spring and a little colour. It’s always so nice to see the first snowdrops, I am enjoying mine.xxx

  10. CJ says:

    I’ll be interested to see if my tulips from two years ago do anything this year. They’re in pots and I haven’t really looked after them very well.

  11. nikkipolani says:

    I remember how sweet your yellow tulips bloomed. And we’ll see if they get some companions this year!

  12. Menhir says:

    You should have an interesting few weeks, seeing what you actually planted and how it all fares. Xx

  13. oanh says:

    Oh! I miss bulbs! They are very hit & miss in Australia because we don’t get a proper winter. I just love them as harbingers of Spring!

  14. Sharon says:

    I love crocuses they dont do too well here, but strangely enough Autumn crocuses flourish. Look forward to seeing your tulips.

  15. Glo says:

    How exciting to see how many bulbs are shooting up! Looking forward to seeing them as spring comes closer. Here, the deer and squirrels seem to enjoy the taste of the crocuses and tulips, but fortunately they don’t eat daffodils! No sign of snowdrops here yet…they often come to Victoria much sooner. I enjoyed seeing all the different snowdrops on Chloris’s blog ~ I like to see the green heart shape inside.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it sure is. Me too, and I’ll be sharing what I see with you on here. I sympathise, and thankfully that’s only squirrels that are a problem here. I hope that the snowdrops appear there soon as they are lovely to see. Me too, it’s a fascinating subject. xx

Leave a Reply

