The plot in January

I was last at the plot on Tuesday when it looked like this

The plot on a misty January morning

The only touch of brightness was this growing on the log that is near the bottom-centre of the above photo

I wonder what this is.I’d welcome any suggestions as to what it is.

The forecast for the coming week is for noticeably colder weather, with rain and wind, so I guess that I’ll be doing plenty of armchair gardening and sofa flying.

Starting on Thursday I’m going to do a post at the end of each month which will mainly be additions, corrections and follow-ups to posts that I’ve done during the month.

Have a good week!

[Click on either picture to see a larger image]

And lastly The Year After is my latest post over on Sofa flying.

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to The plot in January

  1. Jo says:

    I’ve no idea what it is, is looks a bit like a miniature fern, doesn’t it. The cold, rain and wind has already arrived here, we had some torrential downpours yesterday and a steady amount of rain this morning as well as lots of gusts, not the greatest conditions for the Big Garden Birdwatch weekend.

  2. Joanne says:

    Whatever it is, its a lovely bright colour. There is so little in my garden at the moment too. Plenty of soil and bare branches. Never mind it will become brighter soon fingers crossed.

  3. It does look like a miniature fern that grows out of tree roots or mossy banks. Hope this weather gets better,or at least drier sooner.

  4. That’s a very evocative first photo – all misty and early morning light (although it could have been taken from the car window … !) At first I thought the white figures were people toiling away! I think your mystery plant is moss. Nearly all the walls here are growing moss, some of which is quite branched and extended, like yours. With all the rain we’ve had, the perfect conditions for moss to grow have been created. It’s definitely not been gardening weather today so I’ve started to sort out my seedbox – a hefty task! Have a good week – I’ll envy you your armchair gardening!

  5. Chloris says:

    it is moss, though I couldn’t say which one there are so many. I think the forecast is rain, rain and more rain for the foreseeable future. I’m sick of the sight of mud.
    A nice shot of your plot in the mist.

  6. It looks lovely seeing your plot at the beginning of the year, so full of promise with the months ahead. I love moss. It looks like a tiny forest of its own close up.

  7. pianolearner says:

    I have no idea, but then I’m the wrong one in our household to ask ;)

  8. CJ says:

    Love that misty shot, but it’s not great weather for plotting. I’ve seen moss like that before, but I can’t help with a name I’m afraid. I shall welcome an extra monthly post from you Flighty, but I can’t imagine for a minute there will ever need to be any corrections made. Hope you have a good week.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ the previous day was frosty and sunny in complete contrast. It probably wouldn’t be an extra post, and there are sometimes. Thanks, and you too. xx

  9. snowbird says:

    Thank goodness for a little green moss….my that fog does look chilly. Our weather is going to be ‘orrible too….sighs….xxx

  10. I go out and walk through the garden at least once a week, even in the dead of winter. I really enjoyed the photos.

  11. Carrie says:

    Its moss and looks very like what is called ‘ordinary moss’, not a very exciting name :( I love mosses – tiny miniature jungles :) xxx

  12. wellywoman says:

    Your image really captures this winter’s weather. I’m beyond fed up now with the incessant rain. It kept me awake most of last night and it has rained all day today. I’ve even started to get bored with me whinging about the weather. ;) That moss is gorgeous – love the zesty colour.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ thanks. Me too, it’s been raining here all day today. I like that about you starting to get bored with yourself. It sure is and really does stand out. xx

  13. Sharon says:

    That first photo looks lovely and mysterious, we had a drop in temperature on Monday and the morning was misty like that but we had colour peeping through thank goodness.

  14. That first image is beautiful Flighty, but goodness all this wet weather gets one down, doesn’t it. Combine wet with cold and definitely time for indoor gardening!

  15. nikkipolani says:

    I was driving to work one sunny morning only to descend into a vast pocket of fog near the office. But nothing so cute emerged as that little ferny moss you’ve got growing on the log.

  16. Well Flighty, it’s all looking very tidy on your plot, if not a bit spooky with that fog. Nice crop of moss you’re cultivating. I managed to grab a window of 5 hours outside yesterday pruning shrubs and a little light weeding and I only had to shelter from the hailstones once! Think it’s fair to say that us gardeners are getting rather cheesed off with all the rain. D

    • Flighty says:

      Dorris thanks. The allotments are overlooked by flats, and there’s a busy main road nearby so it’s thankfully not as spooky as it could be. being able to do some work like that at this time of year is a real bonus. I think that it’s very fair to say that. xx

  17. Jane aka NorthernTeacher says:

    Hello Flighty – we’re all itching for something brighter in our gardens, aren’t we? Imagine my surprise to find a beautiful vinca major flower at my gate today :-)

Leave a Reply

