Expert no-dig advice, month by month…

is the byline on Charles Dowding’s Veg Journal which is due to be published early next month by Francis Lincoln, and thanks to Jessica Atkins at Aurum Publishing I was recently sent a copy to read and review.

Charles Dowding's Veg JournalIt’s a compact, 190+ pages, hardback that is full of no nonsense, practical  information that should prove useful to everyone who grows vegetables in the garden or on the plot.  Apart from the no-dig advice it covers almost everything that you need to know, or perhaps should be aware of, such as sowing through to harvesting, intercropping, making compost, pests and weeds and so on.  There are plenty of good photos, various charts, a useful list of suppliers and resources and an index.

It’s a book that I’m sure I will be constantly referring to, and indeed making notes in, during the coming months as I’m determined to grow better this year.

I find it surprising that more people don’t use the no-dig method that Dowding has long advocated but perhaps this book will convince some to give it a try.

However you grow your vegetables I think that it’ll be well worthwhile buying a copy of this book, which incidentally has received some excellent reviews by fellow bloggers including Jo, The Good Life, Karen, The Garden Smallholder and VP, Veg Plotting.

If you’re in the UK/EU and would like the chance of winning a free copy of this book then leave a comment to that effect and I’ll draw a name out of the hat.

To order Charles Dowding’s Veg Journal at the discounted price of £12 (RRP £14-99) including p &p (UK only, if overseas add £2-50) phone 01903 828503 or email mailorder@lbsltd.co.uk quoting the order code APG69. Alternatively you can send a cheque payable to Littlehampton Book Services Mail Order Department, Littlehampton Book Services, PO Box 4264, Worthing, West Sussex, BN13 3RB, and please quote the offer code APG69 and include your name and address details.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Expert no-dig advice, month by month…

  1. Joanne says:

    I read Jo’s review albeit quite late as I missed her post. I think I shall put my name down for your give away please Mike. I subscribe to the no dig method most of the time sometimes if the soil has been compacted by me walking over it I do get the fork out.

  2. Jo says:

    I think we’ve come to the same conclusion, a good book well worth reading. Thank you for the link. No need to put my name in the hat as I’ve got my review copy.

  3. Charlotte says:

    Oh! A competition! That book looks excellent and as we’re planning on doing our garden up this year (we’ve already started chopping down some horrendous massive bushes) that looks like an incredibly useful book to have, especially as I want to grow as much veg as possible and have a husband that hates digging!

  4. lindagruchy says:

    I’d like a chance of winning a copy, please. I have recently taken on an allotment and intend to use no-dig methods quite a bit of the time (but not all the time) once I have the hard pan sorted.

  5. CJ says:

    No digging does sound like exactly my sort of thing! I don’t really dig my raised beds as it is, but it’s something I could try at the allotment as well I think.

  6. Jane aka NorthernTeacher says:

    Hello Flighty :-) I do no dig and look at Charles’ website but nonetheless, I would love to win a copy of his book. Please include my name.

  7. Chloris says:

    This book sounds great, so count me in please! It sounds really useful. I went to a talk on the no dig method and I am going to completely redo my veg garden and make some raised beds . That’s if the ground ever dries out of course, which right now seems difficult to imagine.

  8. I love the concept of no-dig! The more one can condition the soil the better veg we will be able to grow. Have been doing a fair bit of reading up on permaculture too. I shall look forward to reading The Veg Journal!! ;)

  9. wellywoman says:

    I’m a big fan of his. I was lucky enough to visit his farm a few years ago. His soil was incredible so he clearly knows his stuff. Best not include me in the draw. Jessica is dealing with my book publicity so it might not be appropriate for me to be included. x

  10. snowbird says:

    It sounds like a smashing little book, yes please, I’d love my name to go in the hat…then I have two chances of winning as I’m also in Jo’s draw.xxx

  11. Great review, glad you also enjoyed it. This book is going to get some serious use, thanks for the mention and link x I too have a copy already so no need to include me in the draw ;) x

  12. Hi Flighty, I have several of his books, and am a big fan of the no dig method of growing. I’m sure this is a good book too, but don’t put me in the draw as I think his general veg growing book covers everything that I need. If it ever stops raining I need to top up the last two veg beds – constructed a la Dowding’s advice – ready for spring!

  13. Lova says:

    I am a fan of the no dig method so would love to win this Veg Journal. I still have to do some digging though in the spring before I plant as my front garden potager is so full of weeds that digging is the quickest way to pull them out.

  14. Despite the huge number of gardening books that I already own, I’m going to ask to be in with a chance for your draw, Flighty. This is probably slightly unfair of me since I already have an earlier no-dig book by Charles Dowding but I’m interested in the difference between the two books. Mine has a very small chapter on no-dig, a few words on pests (badgers and rabbits, nothing about keeping cats and foxes at bay), the remainder give advice on growing different veg, divided into salads, perennial veg, herb and edibles. I like the idea of having a monthly prompt of what to do next and somewhere to make notes – and perhaps a bigger explanation of no-dig. I do add manure and compost to my raised beds but I really enjoy digging so not sure that I’ll every totally embrace this method of gardening, especially with top soil sitting on London clay creating a soil pan if left undug.

    • Flighty says:

      Caro I’ve put your name in the hat. I don’t consider it slightly unfair because you have one of his other books.
      Like you I generally enjoy digging providing I’m in the right mood and it’s not too strenuous. xx

  15. Glo says:

    Hi Flighty ~ I watched his youtube video from 2009 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EktX-vISBow and found it interesting. I look forward to seeing which one of your lovely readers wins. I think that you are gathering a helpful library of gardening books ~ maybe you could take a photo of the ones you enjoy all lined up :)

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I’ve seen that video but enjoyed watching it again. I’m sorry that I can’t include you in the draw.
      That’s a good idea, I’ll see what I can do. xx

  16. nikkipolani says:

    “No-dig” sounds like what might be called “lasagna gardening”, I think. Some of my friends from the cottage forum days used the method to great success. Sounds like you enjoyed the book and, given the wet and rainy outlook, more books in your future ;-)

  17. Flighty says:

    Nikki I think that you’re right. Yes it’s an excellent book, and it’s been raining here all day today but I’ve been doing other things. xx

Leave a Reply

