A bit more plotting

Last Sunday I went to to the horticultural society trading shed to renew my membership, and buy onion sets and seed potatoes. More on the latter in a forthcoming post.

Some people may have noticed that I’ve not mentioned the society or shed for some time. That’s because back during the summer there was what the chairman called some silliness, and what I considered to be unwarranted stupidity. I resigned as a committee member and shed helper as clearly matters weren’t going to change, and hadn’t been there since. I also didn’t go to either the Annual Show or the Christmas party.

Both Monday and Tuesday mornings were bright and sunny so I did some plotting. I pulled up the last of the pot marigolds and sunflowers. The latter I’ll add to compost heap, when I restart it, minus the roots which I’ve cut off and disposed of.

I also pruned the blackberry bush, including cutting out all the dead stems near to ground level. There are already signs of new growth on it. The grape vine was also pruned back, now being the ideal time to do it.

Excellent service from Home and Garden Centre, where seed postage is just a £1, as I ordered a packet each Tomato F1 Sweet N Neat Yellow and Cherry on Monday and received them the next morning. I also received the flower seeds that I’d ordered from Chiltern Seeds. 

No matter how...The weather looks like being mostly dry, but a touch colder, during the coming week so hopefully I’ll be able to do a bit more plotting, which at this time of year is most welcome.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to A bit more plotting

  1. I had a bad experience when I was chair of our association. A handful of individuals were abusive and stirred things up and the majority (who offered support privately) just kept their heads down. As a result the committee resigned and no-one else wanted to step forward so we now have no association. It was a case of the nasty minority getting their way.

  2. Mark Willis says:

    Unfortunately many associations go the way you describe – and I don’t mean just Allotment asoociations. Some people are just SO bigoted and hard to get along with. The “Silent Majority” seldom gets its own way because the small proportion of idiots intimidates them. I hope you’ll not lose your interest in gardening and blogging because of what has happened. I for one am giving you my support!

    • Flighty says:

      Mark I know only too well that it happens, and agree with what you say.
      What happened has made no difference to my plotting or blogging both of which I enjoy as much as I ever did. Thanks, that’s much appreciated.

  3. It is nice to get out again,dry and cold would do just fine. Happy Gardening,Flighty :)

  4. Anonymous says:

    Its been great to get on our plots this year. Last year I was battling a chest infection that refused to be defeated and my plots resembled paddy fields. This year despite the rain its dry enough to dig. Can empathize about your society. I resigned as chairman of ours because of idiotic feuds that dated back decades. At the end of the day I just want fresh air, exercise and if i’m lucky fruit and veggies. Several plot holders still don’t talk to me but I just ignore them and enjoy my time up there!

    • Flighty says:

      Anonymous, whoever you are, hello. My sympathies and I hope that you’re now fully recovered. Thanks, it seems that plenty of people have similar stories. That sounds good to me on both counts. Cheers.

  5. elaine says:

    Oh dear – sorry to hear about the troubles – as long as you continue enjoying plotting that’s the main thing. I managed to get out to do a bit of clearing up dead bits and bobs – really good to be out in a bit of sunshine – although my hands and feet were like icicles.

  6. Hello Flighty, I was once little feathers – perhaps big feathers now? I am rambling about my wonderful dog over on my blog if you’d like to visit? Hope to see you there.

  7. Become a writer and then you can plot against the bad guys happily without worrying about the police breathing down your neck. As they say it always the few who spoil it for others. Is it already to plant shop bought potatoes that are sprouting. I have quite few under my sink and was think about planting them soon with the weather as it is. What do you think? Normally, I buy mine.

  8. snowbird says:

    What a pity about the nonsense at the horticultural society, I do hope it can be resolved….fingers crossed!
    Onions and seed potaotoes already you say???? gosh, I’ll have to get a wriggle on if I’m to keep up!
    I have my wildflower seeds coming this week, it’s so exciting when they arrive isn’t it. Still really mild here too.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird yes it is, and I’m sure it will sometime.
      Yes but they always get them this early, there’s plenty of time to get what you want.
      They sound good, and will look wonderful when they flower. It was frosty here this morning. xx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    It’s a shame such a convivial society can be spoiled by some parties. Glad to hear you’ve had time and sunshine to do some tidying up. Just finished doing the annual “dormant” spray — not that we’ve had any dormancy…. but the spray helps keep disease down.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki it’s really just a couple of people. It’s always good to do some plotting at this time of year. I guess that’s a necessary job but one that you’re not keen on doing. xx

  10. CJ says:

    What a shame that a few are spoiling it for the many. I’m sorry you’ve had to go through this Flighty. Thanks for reminding me about seed potatoes, my order should be waiting for me at my local garden shop, I’ll try and pick them up this week. Thanks for the tip about Home and Garden Centre as well, it’s so handy to find a company that only charges £1 for postage. I often just want the odd couple of packets of seeds, and if the postage is expensive it’s not worth buying from a catalogue. I hope you have a good week, CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ sadly it’s an all too familiar story. Thanks. Getting the seed potatoes is another reminder that the new season isn’t far away.
      It’s good to find a company like that, and I’ve no doubt that I’ll buy from them again.
      Thanks, and you too. xx

  11. tinasplot says:

    You can’t rely on people but you can rely on growing plants/veg to make you feel good. Ignore folks who let power go to their head and continue sowing seeds that will become plants that will continue to make you feel good and sometimes spring surprises on you.

  12. Joanne says:

    I’m sorry to hear of your troubles, I hope it can be resolved for you this year. xx

  13. Jo says:

    That’s such a shame, I know how much you enjoyed your Sunday mornings at the trading shed and the annual show. I tend not to get involved with committees because, sadly, they all seem to go the same way. There’s a few who think they’ve got the power and let it go to their head, making it miserable for the majority. On a happier note, I still haven’t pulled up my Flighty’s Favourites, they’re still flowering their socks off, hardy little things they are. My potato order is already in, but I still need to source some Anya, I think I know a local nursery which sells them so I’ll buy them from there.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it is but that’s way it goes unfortunately. I really don’t blame you as you’re so right.
      Lucky you with the Flighty’s Favourites. I’ll be interested to see how the Anya do. xx

  14. VP says:

    Ahh the joys of allotment associations. Sadly your story is too common elsewhere :/

    And it’s not just allotments, my husband has had some shocking treatment over the past couple of years at the heritage steam railway where he volunteers. Hopefully 2014 will be better for both him and you.

    xxx

  15. menhir1 says:

    There’s nothing like working with an alternative meaning to plot. :)

    xx

  16. wellywoman says:

    Sorry to hear about the problems with the horticultural society. I have just resigned from the allotment committee. In fact we all did in protest about the lack of progress. It’s very sad but we had all had enough. Good to hear you’ve managed to get to the plot though. The ground is still too wet here for me to do anything but I’m not in a hurry, plenty of time to get started. x

    • Flighty says:

      Welly thanks. I do wonder why so many of us have these problems. As you say all very sad. Yes I was well pleased, and did a bit more this week as well. Fingers crossed that it’ll start to dry out for when we do get started properly. xx

  17. Glo says:

    Now that you’ve bought your new membership, will you still go on Sundays to volunteer, or does the problem still exist? Great that you have been able to spend some time at the plot to tidy things up. You’ve reminded me that I need to do that, especially with the grapevines which wend themselves all over the place.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo the problem still exists but as a goodwill gesture I did offer to go back on the shed helper rota, where I’d be there every five weeks, but that wasn’t taken up. It sure is as there’s always something to do. Good luck with the pruning. xx

  18. Sorry to hear of your summer troubles, Flighty. Sounds like you’re still plotting on your own terms, though! :) I’m may pick up my spuds at Potato Day again – although I think the RHS are having a potato day as part of the first London Show in February so may get mine then. I’m enjoying having the time to think about what I can grow this year without rushing into buying anything – I hope that will stop me buying too many new seeds!

    • Flighty says:

      Caro thanks. I sure am! That sounds like a good idea as you’ll get plenty to choose from.
      I don’t like rushing, but as for buying too many new seeds…! xx

  19. Chloris says:

    I’ll be interested to hear which potatoes you have selected to grow this year. I like to try new varieties but I find choosing which ones quite difficult.

    • Flighty says:

      Chloris I’m growing first earlies Vales Emerald, second earlies Charlotte (which are my favourites) and Kestrel, and main crop Desiree. All of which I’ve grown before. xx

      • Chloris says:

        I don’t know Vale’s Emerald so I’ll give it try. I love Kestrel and Charlotte too. Last year I grew Amandine which is very popular in France, it is a bit like Charlotte but I think even better. It is difficult to get hold of though.

        • Flighty says:

          Chloris I find some first earlies such as Foremost and Swift to be rather bland, and I know some people who like Arran Pilot. I will keep an eye out for Amandine, which sounds like a variety I’d like. xx

  20. As others have already said, such a shame when an association goes a little nuts, usually down to just one or to awkward individuals. I hope the plotting itself is still enjoyable, and there is no lingering ill feeling to spoil your forays up there to prune and plant. Our village harbour committee is like a mini soap opera people fall out and resign and then go back so frequently, and old enemies join forces against the newest trouble maker. The reasonable voices always seem to get drowned out.

    • Flighty says:

      Janet yes it really is a shame. I’m still enjoying plotting thankfully and looking forward to this year. It seems that most committees are like that. xx

Leave a Reply

