Pot marigolds Flighty’s favourites 2013/4

Pot marigold 16-13Besides the many familiar orange and yellow varieties there are what I call the biscuit coloured ones which include apricot, cream and peach.

They are easier on the eye, and often have a touch of red edging to the petals.

Pot marigold 18-13I’ve been busy dead-heading all mine as I don’t want them to self-seed everywhere, although they will bloom again.  I’ve rather too many this year so I’m planning on mainly growing them just in a couple of areas next year.

The first of these Flighty’s favourites started flowering over three months ago and should continue through to the first frost, long after most of the other annuals have finished.

Pot marigold 19-13

Here are the links to the previous posts on these  Pot marigolds Flighty’s favourites – 2013/1Pot marigolds Flighty’s favourites – 2013/2 and Pot marigolds Flighty’s favourites 2013/3 | Flighty’s plot.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Pot marigolds Flighty’s favourites 2013/4

  1. I like the different variety of colour you have, I only have the orange ones!

  2. wellywoman says:

    They are beautiful and I can see why you love them so much. It did make me smile when you said you dead headed them so they didn’t self seed. I am less than conscientious when it comes to dead heading and as a result have spent all summer pulling out new plants growing in the chipped bark of my paths. Hope you have a lovely weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly it’s nice to know that you like them too. I need to dead-head them or they’ll be self-seeding all over everyone else’s plots. Thanks, and you to. xx

  3. snowbird says:

    They do come in such lovely colours don’t they? Fantastic flowering value too.xxxx

  4. CJ says:

    Yes, the biscuit coloured ones are lovely. Such a change from the really bright ones, and nice to have a mixture I think.

  5. Caro says:

    I love that coral tinged flower in the third photo, Flighty – it’s a beauty! I think the subdued colours of your Flighty Favourites rather suit the more autumnal weather we’ve been having. If you have any seeds going spare, I’d love some for the veg patch!

  6. Jo says:

    I think biscuit coloured is a great way to describe them. I love the bright colours, but it’s nice to have some of the others mingled in amongst them too.

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Yes, these are my favourites, too, though the seeds didn’t germinate here (I’m sure it’s my usual luck with seeds). Though I have your single bright marigolds that are still going strong. I hope they WILL self-seed!

  8. elaine says:

    Sorry – I have to say that I prefer the bright orange ones – I have loads of the paler ones – but I like something that makes an impact. Different strokes for different folks eh

  9. Sharon says:

    I really love the biscuit coloured ones, I have seen a packet of art shades so might buy them as if I need more marigolds. Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

