I was still…

a bit frazzled last week, but it’s now feeling slightly fresher thanks to some rain during the past couple of days and a welcome breeze.

The foliage of one of the second early potatoes Kestrel had completely died back so I had a gentle dig around with a hand fork and found these.

Second early potatoes 'Kestrel'The big one, in the middle, weighs about 12oz/340gm, and fills the palm and fingers of my hand.  It’ll keep and be used as a jacket potato.

Cosmos ' Purity'I was pleased to see that a few cosmos bipannatus Purity have grown and flowered as I do like this flower. It grows to around three feet but next year I’m switching to cosmos bipinnatus Sonata White which is shorter, less than two feet, as it should do better on the rather exposed plot.  

Here’s another Gatekeeper butterfly, this time on a pot marigold.

Gatekeeper butterfly on a pot marigold

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to I was still…

  1. Joanne says:

    The middle potato does look a whopper. Hope you enjoy them .

  2. I’ve had some Kestrel. Weren’t as big as expected, but really nice to eat!

  3. snowbird says:

    Wow….that spud sure will make a fantastic jacket potato!
    I love the cosmos and that delightful little butterfly which is obviously enjoying your marigolds.xxxx

  4. Maggie says:

    I like the Cosmos against the cornflowers and the pot marigolds, lovely. x

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Sweet looking potatoes — well done you!

  6. lindasgarden says:

    Awesome post lovely spuds have a good week yourself

  7. CJ says:

    Lovely cosmos, I’ve got some on the allotment this year, and I’m loving them. I know what you mean about shorter varieties being good though. Glad you are feeling less frazzled. The rain has certainly taken the pressure to water away, which has helped me no end. It will of course make the weeds grow faster though…

    • Flighty says:

      CJ good for you. Thanks. Yes watering an allotment can be a real chore, especially over a period of time. That, of course, is the downside… xx

  8. elaine says:

    Well done on the spuds – many more to come I hope.

  9. wellywoman says:

    I can recommend Cosmos Rubenza, if you like a dark, carmine pink colour. It gets to about 60cm but still has the airiness of the taller varieties.

  10. Yummy looking spuds Flighty. Love your butterfly shot.

Leave a Reply

