I’ve been sidetracked…

today so won’t be doing the post that I’d hoped to do.

I was last at the plot on Friday when I noticed that my one and only cucumber Straight Eight has now flowered,

Cucumber flowers

and so have the first of the runner beans St George.

Runner bean flowers

How about some cool blue cornflowers (centaurea cyanus) on another hot, sunny day.

Cornflowers (centaurea cynaus)

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I’ve been sidetracked…

  1. Jenny Aspin says:

    It all looks lovely, Flighty!

  2. lindasgarden says:

    awesome post just followed your other blog too can you put a like button on them please

  3. menhir1 says:

    I wonder if my cucumbers – the ones in the cold frame – will look like yours in due course. (At least, I think they’re cucumbers). The Cornflowers do look beautifully cool. Again, mine, if that’s what I planted, aren’t in the flowering stages yet. xx

  4. Jo says:

    I think we’re on both on track. I’ve got flowers on my cucumbers and flowers on the St.George runner beans too.

  5. snowbird says:

    How lovely! You’re ahead of me on the runner beans but I have a few cucumbers growing away….

    I do love cornflowers.xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird thanks. They’re really noticeably grown and flowered in the past week.
      Me too, and I’m going to try a white variety as well next year. xx

  6. Maggie says:

    Loving the blue cornflowers Flighty. Having not grown beans before I hadn’t realised what lovely flowers they have, yours are quite lovely. x

    • Flighty says:

      Maggie they’re doing really well this year. All beans have flowers – pink, red, white or bi-coloured depending on the variety – and add to the look of any vegetable patch. xx

  7. I’m back ;) Glad your beans and cukes are flourishing. My hubby has been cutting large cukes while I was away, seems we are ahead of you over there!!!

  8. pianolearner says:

    Our cucumber has flowers on too.

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Why did I have in my mind that you don’t like cucumbers? Well, maybe you only like ‘Straight Eight’! The flowers are certainly cute. And those cornflowers are doing you proud.

  10. Flighty says:

    Nikki it’s courgettes that I’m not fussed about and usually grow, but not this year. I like cucumbers, any variety, and last year was the first year I actually managed to grow some on a plant I was given. All the curcurbits – courgette, cucumber, marrow, pumpkin and squash – have good looking flowers.
    Yes the cornflowers have done well this year and look really good. xx

  11. I love cornflowers, they make for some beautiful photography. Sadly, we’ve not got any this year.

Leave a Reply

