I couldn’t resist…

The first few potatoes 'Vales Emerald'having a firkle* on Monday as one of the first early potato Vales Emerald plants had started dying back and I was pleased to find these. They were all just a bit bigger than large egg sized and needless to say they were really delicious. (* Carrie prefers to be Furtling for Dinner).

Pods are forming on the broad beans Witkiem Manita but they’ve also got blackfly, which is not surprising in view of the worrying lack of ladybirds this year. I’ve pinched the tops out, and sprayed them, so hopefully they’ll be okay. All the other beans are growing well.

All the beans

StrawberryI’ve been picking a few strawberries each time I’ve been on the plot, which I’ve been been enjoying with my breakfast cereal. As you can see some like this one have been quite big.

First raspberriesToday I was able to pick the first few raspberries, which look like being the first of many this year.  I must remember to sort out some containers for them so that I’ve got something to bring them home intact.

Annual poppyApart from the pot marigolds plenty of other flowers have now started appearing, including nasturtiums and annual poppies, which I’ll probably write about in my next post.

Have a good weekend, which looks like being warm and sunny here!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I couldn’t resist…

  1. Jo says:

    I bet those spuds were delicious. I haven’t emptied any containers yet, perhaps this weekend. My broad beans haven’t been attacked by blackfly at all, I didn’t pinch the tops out either, so I think I must be very lucky as it seems the norm to have an attack. I do hope the forecast is right for the weekend, a bit of sunshine would be lovely.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo they were. Go on have a firkle! Lucky you not having any blackfly.
      Well it certainly is here and I hope that it is there as well. xx

  2. Mark Willis says:

    You are right about the absence of Ladybirds – in fact almost ALL insects seem to be scarce this year. Fortunately the blackfly are included in this (for me at least).

  3. lindasgarden says:

    Awesome Mike can I hear spud salad in the making ?

  4. David Ford says:

    very impressed with your runner bean bed Flighty not a weed in sight

  5. CJ says:

    Mmm, the potatoes look delicious, as do the strawberries and (my favourite) the raspberries. My raspberries are just about to ripen – as I go away for a few days. Oh well, hopefully there will still be plenty when I get back. I always forget to take containers to the plot. And I find I am out and about and I reach in my bag and there are bits of asparagus in there.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ they taste as good as they look. I’m sure that there’ll be lots of ripe raspberries waiting for you when you get back. I do too. That’s shows you’re a ‘proper’ gardener. xx

  6. snowbird says:

    Firkle….what a WONDERFUL word!!!

    Oh those spuds look simply delicious, I’m imagining them with salt and pepper and a nob of butter….mmmmmmm, and the berries look fab too!

    I haven’t seen any ladybirds this year recently, I saw hundreds in march but the cold weather killed them off, which is worrying as you say, I’ve also noticed a lack of honey bees but we have lots of bumble bees.xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird I think I came across it on one of the gardening forums.
      Yes both the potatoes and berries looked good and tasted better.
      I wonder what the effects of their loss will be. Plenty of bees, of all kinds, here. xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Yuuuuuum! New potatoes are so wonderful! Your plot is looking particularly tidy. And the flowers are doing you proud. That one pot marigold has just started unfurling its petals. I’m hoping the rest will follow soon. Enjoy your berries.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki indeed they are. Thanks, that’s because I’d spent a couple of days tidying and weeding all round. There’s still lots more flowers to come. I’m sure that the rest will. I sure will. xx

  8. Julie says:

    Mmmm fresh produce.. yummy!

    Luckily our broad beans haven’t got blackfly.. as for the lack of ladybirds.. I have seen the total of one.. yes one.. this year and that wasn’t even in my garden! It is worrying :(

    Luckily we have loads of bumblebees and of course our own honeybees :o)
    Julie x

    • Flighty says:

      Julie there’s nothing quite like it is there.
      Maybe more will appear in this good weather. It’s always good to see lots of bees. xx

  9. Carrie says:

    What?? You firkle? This is a new one for me but I like it as long as it gets the same fabulous results xx I have a niggling feeling that we have some fruits ready to be eaten and probably some pest issues :( I have seen 2 ladybirds so far this year, about a dozen bees and 2 butterflies – it’s just not good is it :(
    Love you loads x

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie don’t tell anyone but I just have a gentle poke around with a hand fork. Enjoy your fruits, and I hope that you don’t have any pest issues.
      Sadly no, it’s not good at all. Thanks, said blushing! xx

  10. What a great haul of potatoes, Flighty!

    I’ve noticed the lack of ladybirds too and have aphids and blackfly on several of my plants. They’ve left my beans alone for the time being though. Enjoy your raspberries, I have to wait a while for mine yet.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula I hope that I get plenty more like that.
      It something that we’ve all noticed by the look of it. Thanks I will, and enjoy yours when they do ripen. xx

  11. elaine says:

    Lovely looking tatties I have never grown that variety. No blackfly for me yet but there is definitely an distinct lack of insect life this year. Perhaps this spell of warm weather will bring them out – let’s hope so. Have a good weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine they’re the best first early variety that I’ve grown. Lucky you, let’s hope it stays like that. Yes I hope so. Thanks, and you too. xx

  12. menhir1 says:

    Your fruits look delectable. The fruits of your labour are visible for all to see. Great stuff! xx

Leave a Reply

