A buzzy plot

Bees on the poached egg plantsI’ve mentioned recently that I see lots of bees, mostly honey bees thanks to plot neighbour John keeping about a dozen hives just a couple of plots away and because I grow flowers with bees and butterflies in mind.

Bees on a perennial cornflowerI often try to take photos of them but they’re usually a bit blurry so not worth showing. I made a special effort on Monday and was pleased to see that among the ones I took there were these which I hope you enjoy looking at.

Bees on the comfreyI stood watching the bees on the comfrey and, more importantly, the raspberries alongside as they help ensure there’ll be plenty of fruit.

I was particularly pleased with this photo as I was concentrating on the bee on the flower and didn’t realise that there was another one in flight.

Bee on a Californian poppyLater I was wondering round the site I came across some Californian poppies (eschscholzia californica) which I’ve grown before and will do again next year.

I’ve just read that Britain’s wettest summer for 100 years sees a third of bee colonies perish which makes sad, and worrying, reading.  Have a look at the excellent Buzz about bees website for lots of information on them, including plenty on what you can do to help if you don’t already.   

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

PS…The latest post over on Sofa flying is Outdoor lessons. To anyone who’s already looked at it please note that I’ve swapped the picture so you may like to have another look.

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to A buzzy plot

  1. nikkipolani says:

    Lovely! They seem so precious now with colony collapse everywhere.

  2. Maggie says:

    I like the photos Flighty, they are brilliant. I’ve tried numerous times to take pictures of all the bees around our raspberries and failed so I’m a tad jealous. Good to highlight the problems facing our bees! X

    • Flighty says:

      Maggie thanks. I lots to get these few good ones, and didn’t manage to get any of them on the raspberries despite trying. Yes it something that needs highlighting. xx

  3. CJ says:

    Great photos. Coincidentally I spent some time on Tuesday dancing round the raspberries trying to take pictures of the several bees that were on them. Tricky isn’t it?! I am a big fan of bees, and I’ve put in a couple of things for them at the allotment. The article you linked to says that in my neck of the woods (SW England) 53% of colonies perished last year. Incredible. Bee keeping is something I would like to try one day, when funds allow. I find it all fascinating. A great post, it has given me plenty of food for thought. The comfrey photo is fantastic – it really shows how much bees love the comfrey flowers.

    • Flighty says:

      CJ thanks. I took lots of them on the raspberries but none were any good.
      Good for you on wanting to keep bees, and hope that one day you do.
      It’s one good reason to grow comfrey. xx

  4. Great to see bees at last. I got a pleasant surprise yesterday while passing my Comfrey patch…..a lot of buzzing going on in there :)

  5. Alison says:

    Lovely! Thank you for sharing, I’ve not seen any bees here. So sad to read the declining of bees everywhere. I know what you mean by taking photos of our winged friends. I tried to take the birds here with no luck so far. enjoy the weekend! xx

    • Flighty says:

      Alison thanks. You won’t see any there until the spring. It certainly is. Taking photos of any wildlife isn’t very easy is it. You too. xx

  6. Jo says:

    The bees certainly seem to be enjoying the comfrey. It’s so sad that so many bee colonies have perished, it is quite worrying when you consider the role they play in our food production.

  7. elaine says:

    You are doing better than me – I haven’t seen any bees at all – great that you managed to capture pictures of them all.

  8. menhir1 says:

    Fast moving things are not easy to to get on camera stills. You’ve managed though. Pretty flower pix. xx

  9. snowbird says:

    Wonderful pics of the bees, and lovely that you have a food supply for them. It’s terrifying how many species of insects and birds are on the decline, I’m growing many different plants for that very reason this year, to help the pollinators and provide good seed heads for the birds.

    I do love those californian poppies, I have them too and can’t get enough of them. I have taken a few cuttings from my neighbour’s perennial cornflower too, I do hope they take.xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird thanks. Most of the flowers I grow are good for bees and butterflies. It sure is, so good for you.
      Me too, so will grow them again next year. Good luck with the cuttings. xx

  10. Joanne says:

    Great photos. Luckily we always seem to have a large number of bees about.

  11. Doris says:

    Glad to see all the bees on and around your flowers (great photos) but very sad to read about the losses due to the wet weather.

  12. Carrie says:

    I haven’t seen that many here yet :( I do have lots of bee friendly plants at the allotment though so maybe they are all over there, not in the garden here. I love to think of them drunk on the sweet pollen and feeling sleepy in the sunshine. Absolutely fabulous photos! xx

  13. orchardier says:

    Terrible losses especially for a species already under stress, last years weather certainly has a lot to answer for and unfortunately things aren’t looking too good for this year either so far.

Leave a Reply

