Almost magical

Large white butterflyOf all the wildlife seen in our gardens and on allotments I think that it’s butterflies that are the most pleasing to see, although I do appreciate that some aren’t too welcome.

Gatekeeper butterfly on a pot marigold

Surely the sight of them fluttering around among the flowers in the sunshine during summertime is almost magical. I don’t see many on the plot, and I’m even luckier to take a good photo when I do.

The photos shown here were taken over the past few years both there and around the site. Thankfully blog friends with more patience and better cameras do rather better as you can see on Lucy’s post THE SPECKLED WOOD’S BOTTOM.

Butterfly Conservation’s Save Our Butterflies Week started yesterday, and continues through to next Sunday. Sadly they are in serious decline so we should do all we can to help as a world without butterflies is simply unthinkable.

Painted lady butterfly

Have a good week!

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Almost magical

  1. CJ says:

    Lovely. We’ve been seeing orange-tipped butterflies at our site lately. Yesterday there was a great-tit feeding caterpillars to his chicks in a box on a neighbouring shed. Let’s hope he’s giving them juicy fat cabbage white ones! Well done on getting any butterfly shots – they are so hard to capture.

  2. Jo says:

    I’ve seen a couple of butterflies fluttering about today, nothing unusual, just plain white ones, so I hope they’re not looking for my brassicas.

  3. Doris says:

    I agree whole-heartedly that “a world without butterflies is simply unthinkable”. We had a large population surge of butterflies last year which was so wonderful but this year they are back to being fairly scarce. I hope more will be evident as the summer progresses.

  4. elaine says:

    Lucky you – I haven’t seen one in my garden yet and today has been absolutely gorgeous. Where are they all I wonder.

  5. snowbird says:

    I totally agree about the magic of a butterfly. A delightful little creature. I haven’t seen many bees or butterflies this year, normally our gardens are teeming with them.xxxx

  6. I do love butterflies….Except the white ones, they do so much damage to our brassicas.!

  7. nikkipolani says:

    You’ve been lucky indeed to catch those butterflies in images. I’m considering more butterly-friendly plants — perhaps an asclepius or two.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I’d like to photograph a few more! A good idea. That’s not a plant I recognise but having looked it up it looks to be well worth growing. xx

  8. Butterflies are simply lovely ( great pics) Can’t wait for the buddleia frenzy later in year! x

  9. It would be unthinkable wouldn’t it. Photographing butterflies is hard as they are so quick, but yours are just lovely. We’ve had lots of orange tips and common blues here, plus the usual peacocks, and I’ve been chasing them around the garden with the camera trying to get photos.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula yes it would. They rarely settle long enough to take a photo. I’ve not seen any of those yet. Good luck, and don’t trip over! xx

  10. NorthernTeacher says:

    I’ve read that the whites will lay on nasturtiums so I’ve planted a few near my cabbages. The cabbage has enviromesh over it so really the butterflies shouldn’t even think about being given a choice!

  11. menhir1 says:

    Lovely bright pix with really bright subjects. xx

  12. wellywoman says:

    Sharing my garden or plot with butterflies and bees is one of the most pleasurable aspects of being a gardener. This year’s weather can’t be helping them. Although I did read somewhere that some species are doing well whilst other are suffering greatly. I rescued a peacock butterfly a few weeks ago that had become trapped in a spiders web on my shed door. It was tricky trying not to damage the delicate butterfly as I attempted to get rid of the sticky web. It worked though and it felt lovely to see it fly off.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly yes I agree with you that it is. Sadly not. It’s generally the case that some do well while others suffer.
      Well done on what sounds to have been a rather tricky thing to do. xx

Leave a Reply

