Round and round…

the plot I went this morning weeding, looking and photographing.

Strawberry flowerThere was no sign of any flowers on the strawberry plants on Tuesday but look what I saw today.

New growth on the grapeThe grapevine has plenty of new growth. Last year was a poor harvest so I’m hoping for better things this year.

Perennial cornflower budsThis perennial cornflower has at least thirty buds showing with some like this one not far off opening.

White narcissusMost of the yellow daffodils, and the tulips, have now finished but there are still some white narcissus.

Grass growing on log topWeeds are growing everywhere, even on top of this log.

What's this (1)What's this (2)These are the two unknown plants that I mentioned on Sunday. I’ve had a browse through a couple of reference books but I couldn’t positively identify either although there were several possibilities. ¬†Any suggestions?

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Round and round…

  1. snowbird says:

    Oh those weeds are a right pain aren’t they, I have them everywhere as well. you are way ahead of me, my strawberries are just getting their leaves and my grapevines are still as dead as a dodo.

    It’s wonderful now isn’t it, just going out each day and seeing what else is developing.

    Is that a lamb’s ear plant….xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird yes certainly are. I’m sure that both yours will catch up, a couple of weeks ago neither showed any signs of growth/flowers.
      Yes it’s always good to walk round looking for something that wasn’t there yesterday.
      It could well be! xx

  2. Jo says:

    I think one of your unknown plants may be Lychnis. I’ve just bought some new strawberry plants, they’re still in their pots but they’ve already got flowers on them. Perhaps it’s going to be a good strawberry year this year.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I thought that but more like likely stachys ‘Lamb’s Ears’. Good for you. I hope so, even though I’m not that fussed about them. xx

  3. Joanne says:

    No flowers on my strawberry plants but my grapevine I thought had died has started to put on a bit of growth.

  4. Well,I cheated with my strawberries and grew them inside the tunnel. They have some nice sized green fruit on them,all we need is sun and heat! I was also delighted to see growth on my grapevine too :)

  5. Your strawberries look nice and healthy!

  6. elaine says:

    Hopefully it could be a good year for strawberries if the early flowers are anything to go by. Unfortunately the warm weather has brought all sorts of weeds out all of a sudden – it’s hard to keep on top of everything. I recognise your mystery plants but can’t put a name to them at the moment – you’ll just have to wait for them to flower then it will be a nice surprise.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine let’s hope so. That is the downside of having some good weather isn’t it. You and me both, but I’m sure that someone will identify them xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    This is my favorite time in the garden — when buds are fattening up, new growth sprouting, hopes for a good harvest. I think your first mystery plant is some variety of lamb’s ear or at least something from the sage family. Don’t know about the ones on the right.

  8. Isn’t it nice to see some progress in the garden. I’ve gone from one flower on my strawberries yesterday, to many this morning. The wind and rain yesterday obviously hasn’t bothered them. Your first mystery plant looks like lambs ear, but I’ve no idea on the second one, hope it turns out to be pretty though.

    • Flighty says:

      Paula yes it really is. It’s surprising how quickly they do that.
      It looks like we all agree on Lamb’s Ear, but none us know what the other one is. xx

  9. menhir1 says:

    Signs of life everywhere. It means the seasons are getting back on course, (hopefully) and you can exercise your plotting skills. xx

  10. CJ says:

    I’ve seen the odd strawberry flower and grape vine bud too, lovely isn’t it. But oh, those weeds. I couldn’t believe my eyes at the allotment last week. And the grass is seeding already, before I’ve had a chance to get it out. I was really hoping to stop any seeding this year; having taken over a weedy allotment last year I’m sure there are already masses of seeds lurking waiting for the right moment to germinate. Looking forward to all the good things though. Your cornflower looks particularly lovely, I’d be interested to see it once the flowers open.

  11. Flighty says:

    CJ it sure is good to see both. As for weeds what can I say…!
    I’ll be posting a photo or two of the cornflower once it flowers. xx

  12. wellywoman says:

    Glad to see your strawberries are perking up. Mine have suffered with all the rain and don’t look well. There was a plan to replace them but I haven’t got round to it. Hopefully once the weather warms up they’ll be OK. My perennial cornflower has buds on it but no colour showing yet. Not sure about the 2 plants. The leaves of one of them look a bit like sweet rocket. Hopefully there will be some flowers soon to help with identification. :)

    • Flighty says:

      Welly thanks, they’re looking good and all have flowers. Sorry about yours not doing so well.
      I think that everything could do with some sun and warmth again.
      I’m sure that both plants will get identified in time. xx

Leave a Reply

