The sight of daffodils…

is such a welcome one at this time of year.  It seems that there is some unwritten understanding that they should be grown on allotments as when I look round I can see them on most of the other plots in various sized groups ranging from just a couple to quite large numbers.

More daffodilsI have a handful of main groups all of which are what I call proper yellow daffodils, which are the ones that I like.

Daffodil 'Rip van Winkle'

There is one other group that has an assortment of varieties including some dwarf bi-colours and a couple of the unusual looking Rip van Winkle

The only downside is that the taller varieties  do tend to get blown over in the wind where they’re not sheltered. However they are a deservedly popular flower and, of course, we all know William Wordsworth’s familiar poem Daffodils.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to The sight of daffodils…

  1. You just have to smile when you see daffodils I think. Such a cheery, happy looking plant. It’s dreadfully windy here today and the daffs in my garden are certainly taking a battering!

    • Flighty says:

      Paula i certainly do. They are indeed. It’s the same here, I was plotting this morning, but it was very wet and windy for a short while earlier and now sunny. xx

  2. David Ford says:

    Rip van Winkle is new to me Flighty will put some on the plot next year for sure, as you say most of my fellow plotters have daffs

  3. Jo says:

    I’ve been meaning to plant daffodils at the allotment ever since I took on the plot but I still haven’t got round to it. It would be nice to have them there for cut flowers, leaving some behind to make the plot look a bit more cheery at this time of year. The first daffodil in my garden bloomed on Monday, quite late this year, but there’s quite a few in flower now, although it’s very windy so they’re being bashed about. I’m like you, I prefer the traditional yellow ones, I don’t think they can be beaten.

  4. elaine says:

    Daffodils rightly deserve their place anywhere, in my opinion, I love the bright yellow against the fresh greens everywhere. Mine are flowering now, at last, but a few have snapped off in the wind and a lot are laying flat. Oh dear, you win some you lose some.

  5. menhir1 says:

    I’m surprised you have any tall daffs; everything is slow growing this year. The peeping plants were positively alpine-sized when I last gazed at them. We’re used to it, but, it is even noticeably slow for our flowers to grow as well. Where there is shelter, or they are facing the ‘right’ way, some flowers are blooming nicely and brightly. It will be interesting to see what survives this year, and at what strength xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir they are much later than usual, which is not surprising as most things seem to be at least a month adrift due to the cold March. I’m sure that most things have survived and will still do well. xx

  6. snowbird says:

    I adore the daffodil, it’s so welcome after a long cold winter. I prefer the tall original daffs too. It must be very cheering seeing them in all their splendour on the allotments.

    Have a wonderful weekend Flighty.xxxxx

  7. annie_h says:

    So lovely to see the daffs out at last.
    I’ve got ‘February Gold’ just flowering now! Really cheerful flowers, they are certainly getting some breezes to blow them around. Really windy here today, with some heavy showers but think forecast reasonable for the weekend.
    Have a lovely weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Annie they been well worth the wait haven’t they. Same here yesterday afternoon but looking better for the weekend, and less windy. Thanks, and you too. xx

  8. I think you must be right Flighty, it is an unwritten law of allotment life to grow at least a few daffs on your plot, the same was true at my old allotment site. I must admit I do tend to prefer the dwarf forms as they seem to fit in the garden better as well as not getting blown over by the wind. A sight guaranteed to lift the spirits, whatever size and wherever planted.

  9. Lovely post! As you already know our garden is new to us, each month brings a new surprise. So far a few clumps of short and taller varieties have appeared around the pond, Sadly, some of the taller ones were blown over today, but there are some different varieties that are yet to open (buds are shorter than the proper daffs) saved from the wind because they’re growing through the middle of shrubs! There are a few single daffs dotted around in the front garden, I do prefer seeing them in clumps.

    Daffodils are so cheerful and I love the scent, I must plant some on my allotment!

    • Flighty says:

      Karen thanks. It’s going to be an interesting year for you seeing what appears in the garden. I’ve moved strays over the years to get bigger groups.
      They sure are, but for me the scent is rather faint due to my poor sense of smell. You must indeed! xx

  10. Doris says:

    So beautiful to see the daffodils and it was nice to have the opportunity to re-read the poem. Thanks.

  11. nikkipolani says:

    I know you’re not fond of the nontraditional daffs, but I love them all :-)

  12. Orchardier says:

    The daffodils are so late this year making them an even more welcome sight than usual.

  13. Ours are there more as a overspill as there is no room in the garden and I kept getting free bulbs when I ordered plants!

  14. Hi Flighty. I have a few Daff’s on plot and I noticed today that one of the tall ones had decided to collapse and lay down by my Black Currant bush, even though it looked to be perfect in every way. I like the fact that Daffodils are such a simple but elegant shape, I remember making Daffodil Easter cards at school with the center cone being made from part of a painted egg box. Good Times! I think the kids still make them in schools today.

    • Flighty says:

      Sam good for you. Sadly unsheltered taller ones do tend to go over in the rain and wind. I bought ten home yesterday that had succumbed.
      It’s good to think that kids today do still do that. xx

  15. Joanne says:

    I have had great success this year with my daffs. Just a mixed selection bag from a supermarket. They are very cheerful looking all the same. Have a good weekend.

    • Flighty says:

      Joanne I know someone who grows lots and always buys them from Poundland. Cheap and cheerful in this case is a real winner. Thanks, and you too. xx

  16. CJ says:

    Daffodils are almost compulsory aren’t they. Saw some lovely ones today at the National Trust’s Newark Park (which is free to enter this weekend with a voucher from the NT website). I particularly liked one with narrow pointed petals, not sure of the name, but it was something a bit different. Lots of primroses everywhere too, beautiful.

  17. Flighty says:

    CJ so it seems. That sounds like a lovely sight. There are lots of varieties, some of which are very different. They’re another nice flower. xx

  18. wellywoman says:

    Hi Flighty, there are a few plots on my allotment site with daffs too. They do look lovely. I planted up some in my beds this year for picking. Got a few late varieties still to come.

Leave a Reply

