A few good days

Last week I spent three mornings plotting before it rained for a couple of days then turned bitterly cold until yesterday.

On the Monday I emptied the compost heap, which I then raked over the vegetable patches and dug in the following day. I dug up the original Michaelmas daisy, separated it and replanted most of it back in a slightly different area. I also gave a couple of good sized bits to plot neighbour George who had asked me for some last autumn when I mentioned I would be going it about now.  The smaller one I dug up and moved as I had decided that it was in the wrong place.  On the Wednesday I spent most of the morning just forking over the areas where I’ll be sowing or planting the broad beans, onions and first early potatoes.  Until I do that I’ll just be pottering, as I was this morning which was sunny.

Rhubarb now showingThe rhubarb, which I moved last autumn,  is now showing.

The first daffodilThe first daffodil, a mini one just a few inches tall has flowered.

TulipsThese tulips are doing okay. The wire basket was to keep the squirrels from digging the bulbs up and will be removed soon.

Purple and white crocusesThere are plenty of crocuses, including these purple and white ones, which the honey bees are homing in on.

Although today has been sunny it looks like later tomorrow through to early next week is going to be milder but wetter.

Have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A few good days

  1. snowbird says:

    You have the digging done which I always think is the worst possible job. Things are suddenly moving along aren’t they. Your rhubarb looks good and I’m amazed that you have bees, I haven’t seen a single one yet! Here’s to better weather! xxxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird it’s certainly the biggest job, and I’m glad that it’s all done. They sure are. Thanks, and there are always honey bees around as a plot neighbour has a dozen or so hives just a couple of hundred feet away. I second that! xx

  2. Elaine says:

    No bees, no rhubarb, no daffodils no digging – you are definitely getting on better than me – we have had rubbish weather although it is cold and bright today. Keep up the good work. Have a good weekend.

  3. menhir1 says:

    You plot is busy fruiting for you. :) xx

  4. Jo says:

    A few good days make all the difference. I don’t even have buds on my crocuses yet, never mind flowers.

  5. Jennyta says:

    It really is time we had a spell of decent weather!!

  6. All sounds rather lovely, I’ve not seen any bees yet this year, though I did hear one. I always get really excited when I see rhubarb leaves starting to emerge. Beautiful shot of those crocuses.

  7. ‘Tis great to see you getting out and off that flying sofa, Flighty :)
    Lovely to see all the spring flowers and getting down and dirty again. My fingernails are at last getting back to being dirty too, great to smell the fresh air and soil once more. Must do another blog soon ;)
    Happy St. Patrick’s Day on Sunday ;)

  8. nikkipolani says:

    My, you did get to plot away last week. I’m sure you enjoy being at the plot, working towards a great crop of edibles and flowers.

  9. Joanne says:

    It is lovely to spend a good few hours in the garden.

  10. NorthernTeacher says:

    Things are looking good, Flightly :-)

Leave a Reply

