More of the same

I suppose that the few days of nice weather last week were too good to last and sure enough since Wednesday it’s been very cold and dull again. The forecast for most of next week is for more of the same. The only positive note is that it hasn’t rained for a while giving the ground a chance to start drying out.

I was plotting on Monday and Tuesday mornings when, after a frosty start, it was sunny and reasonably warm. As well as pruning and tidying up the raspberries I also hoed or forked over several areas.

Last Sunday plot neighbour Trevor gave me a few vincetoxicum scandens seeds, which I’m probably going to grow in a container.

Not surprisingly I wasn’t the only person to blog about The Good Life and if you want to laugh at another memorable highlight have a look at Annie’s post The Good Life part 2.

I came across this picture* earlier today which I thought I’d share.

In the summer

Cats also featured in Friday’s Sofa flying blog post Origami cats.

Have a good week!

[* which I think should be credited to Green Renaissance]

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to More of the same

  1. elaine says:

    It has been bloomin awful here too absolutely raw and bitterly cold – like you say, I thought the nice weather was too good to last – but it did me a power of good whilst it was here. Love the shed picture – charming. No idea what vinte whatsit flowers look like – hope you have success with them.

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine hasn’t it just, and hope that better weather will be with us soon. I’m glad that you like the shed. They’re fairly insignificant and smell like rotting fruit! Thanks. xx

  2. Jo says:

    I love the shed photo, so idyllic, especially with a cat there for company too. It’s so cold here again, it’s been trying to snow over the last few days but it hasn’t managed it so far. Glad you managed to get a bit of plotting done, I really need to go and see if my allotment has dried out at all, though i’m not holding my breath.

  3. It was very warm and spring-like here on Tuesday also, but went downhill after that. We had a few snow showers yesterday, but nothing that amounted to anything. It hasn’t rained here for over a week, and for the first time in ages the path at the allotment was not treacherously slippy. x

  4. snowbird says:

    What a lovely picture! Our weather is dull and grey, we have even had snow over the last few days. xxxxx

  5. I got very excited by the warm sun on Tuesday… :( Weary of the cold now.

  6. annie_h says:

    Hi Flighty,
    Thanks very much for the link to my blog!
    Yes after such a gorgeous weekend last weekend its been a really cold grey week in Huddersfield. But at least its been dry. Still not managed to get up to my plot yet though. It’ll be next weekend now. Think we are all craving some warmth now.

  7. Wind and no rain here in south Ireland has dried the ground, but bitterly cold and a very hard frost last night. But “things ” seem to have started budding in spite of that. I love the shed :)

  8. Glo says:

    By the link, those seeds may generate invasive plants, so even if they are in a container, could the mature plant send out seeds into your plot? The picture of the shed looks inviting :) A bit of sunshine this week, encouraged me to clean up some of the front garden. It’s amazing what survives in the window boxes and containers, so I’m glad I don’t pluck all the dead stuff out in the winter…little spring things are sneaking up from beneath the old. I usually do get a bit of clearing up in February, and then March blows in!!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo if it does grow and flower I’ll have to make sure that I dead-head it before it does that. Some sunshine really does make all the difference doesn’t it. That’s why leaving most of the cleaning up to now is such a good idea. xx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Cats and gardens go well together don’t they? So it seems you’re through with your spring break and have returned for a few more weeks of winter!

  10. What an enticing shed, love the archway. It has been bitterly cold again, hasn’t it. Ah well, at least the ground is drying out. Hope you get some more plotting done this week.

  11. Carrie says:

    the weather has been similar here and thank goodness the ground is drying out and work is getting done :) that shed is perfection. big hugs to you xxx

Leave a Reply

