The Jewels of the Garden

Elaine did a post recently titled Tomatoes – The Jewels of the Garden which I sure many people agree with as there isn’t anything better than eating a ripe, warm just picked tomato. I was pleased with my modest success growing them last year.

I only got to eat a few Gardener’s Delight before they succumbed to blight so this year I’m trying the variety Outdoor Girl instead.

Tomato 'Golden Queen'The yellow Golden Queen did surprising well considering the lack of sunshine meant that they took a long time to ripen. Neither did they succumb to blight so I’ll be trying these again.

At home I grew a couple of Red Robin, one of which toppled off the window sill whilst the other did produce some marble sized fruit. I’m also going to try these again but will use bigger, deeper pots and pinch them out to keep to a reasonable height.

Tuesday’s Sofa flying post was Tickling the ivories with a link that will appeal to anyone will likes The Muppets.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Jewels of the Garden

  1. Jo says:

    Tomatoes are my most favourite thing to grow, I don’t know why, it could be the many different varieties to choose from, nurturing the plants as they grow, or the final produce, as you say, nothing better than eating a ripe, warm just picked tomato. I’m growing many of the same varieties which I grew last year. Many of them were new to me, but they didn’t really get to shine due to the weather we encountered so I’ll give them a second chance. I’ll be growing my usual trusted varieties too.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo they’re not my favourite but I certainly get a great sense of satisfaction when I pick and eat that first one of the season.
      I think that anything tried last year should be given another chance! I also think that growing a mix of usual trusted along with new varieties is a good idea. xx

  2. snowbird says:

    I couldn’t agree more about the joy’s of homegrown toms. I tend to grow cherry toms but will give the larger one’s a go this year. I always forget to pinch out and mine quickly get leggy.xxxx

  3. Maggie says:

    I was having a winge about the prices of tomatoes in tesco the other day, they don’t even compare to the flavours of homegrown toms. Can’t wait for the summer! I’ve never heard of golden queen, maybe look at trying those next year. X

    • Flighty says:

      Maggie being the price they are and having little, or no real, flavour I tend not to buy any.
      You, me and everyone else! It’s one of several yellow varieties available, all of which are sweeter than red ones. xx

  4. Debbie says:

    I love the fact that you post on a Thursday as it makes the weekend feel that much closer. Thank you for cheering me up every week. xx

  5. Glo says:

    I love how tomatoes smell on the vine! I think I’ll have a go growing them as well ~ I have in past years, but not for awhile. Looking forward to seeing how yours come along.

    I followed your links including your link to your Sofa flying blog, checked out the muppets, and also the blog of pianolearner ~ no wonder the time goes by so quickly each day, with one thing leading to another! Fun, though.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo even with my poor sense of smell I can smell these. That sounds like a good idea to me.
      Fun indeed, and I’m sure that both will be mentioned again. xx

  6. elaine says:

    I wouldn’t be without tomatoes in the garden – good to know that you had some success last year. I’m certainly looking forward to tasting the first of the tomatoes this year.

  7. Joanne says:

    I only have red tomato seeds to grow this year, it will give me an excuse to visit the garden centre for some yellow tomato plants.

  8. Outdoor Girl is a new variety for me…I’m having a look at some seeds now. Every time I attempt to grow tomatoes outside it ends in tears so this year I’ve decided to stick with about ten plants that I grow in the conservatory. Gardeners Delight is one type that I regularly grow indoors.

    • Flighty says:

      Tanya hello, and welcome. It was recommended to me. That’s a shame. You’re lucky being able to grow some indoors as I only have the plot where I can grow mine. xx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Well, good luck to you for this next season! I have officially, really truly this time, given up on container tomatoes. I’m hoping to mooch off my aunt-with-the-green-thumb :-)

  10. Those Red Robin Toms look very tasty and I love the name as well. I went a bit mad with tomato varieties last year and plan to simplify it this year by sticking to just two or three types. I want to try a tumbling Tom yellow, but will probably just buy a single plant from a garden center rather than buy a packet of seeds. If it wins me over, I can always buy or save seeds for next year. x

    • Flighty says:

      Sam they were as tasty as they look, and me too. I only grow a few varieties. That sounds like a good idea as there’a usually too many seeds and they are quite pricey xx

  11. Looking forward to growing tomatoes more than I usually do, perhaps because last year was a bit of a flop for most of us. I have left a couple of blog awards for you over at my blog. Don’t worry too much if you don’t wish to play along with the rules of these things. I notice you already have one of them, but I’m sure that you’ll be pleased all the same ;)

    Karen x

    • Flighty says:

      Karen I think that we all feel the same this year. Many thanks for the awards, I’ve just read your post and commented. I shall post about them in due course. And yes, of course, I’m well pleased! xx

  12. Enjoy your tomatoes this year Flighty, I hope “Outdoor Girl” is a winner – if so I may give her a whirl next year. Am hoping to sow mine tomorrow, but still haven’t really worked out how many I have room for…

  13. wellywoman says:

    I’d given up on tomatoes after years of blight but I’m thinking of giving them a go again this year. Have you ever tried a variety called ‘Totem’. They are a bush tomato so can be comfortably grown in pots and the plants grow to about 2ft tall. They don’t need any pinching out. We had great success with them, getting 15kg from 6 plants.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly sadly blight is an ever present problem with tomatoes. No, but I’ll bear it in mind. It actually sounds rather similar to Red Robin which I mention above. xx

Leave a Reply

