Onions are the vegetable…

that I’ve consistently done best with, and in the past few years I’ve grown enough to last me year round.

Thankfully even last year was no exception and I still have about forty in store waiting to be used. I grow mine from sets as I find this much easier than growing from seed.

I buy them at the horticultural trading shed, which in previous years have always been the varieties Sturon and Turbo. This year we’ve switched suppliers and the latter isn’t available so we’re offering Centurion instead. Both that, and Sturon, are excellent varieties and have the coveted RHS Award of Gardening Merit. They’re on sale at £2 per kg, with 60 of each only costing me 50 pence.

Onions, grown and setsThis picture shows three of my stored ones along with a handful of sets. For an idea of size they’re on a dinner plate that is ten inches across. [Click on the picture to see a larger image.]

For further details this RHS webpage Grow your own onions may be of interest.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Onions are the vegetable…

  1. Mark Willis says:

    I dread to think how many acres of land it would require to give me an all-year-round supply of onions! They are such a constant feature of our cooking that we use loads of them.

  2. snowbird says:

    Your onions are amazing, I’m totally jealous. I don’t have much luck growing them. What type of soil do you have, and how often do you water….maybe you can help me get a crop this year.xxxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird thanks. That’s a shame. Dig down just a few inches and it’s clay. I only water them if it’s really dry. Have another go and I’ll keep my fingers crossed. xx

  3. What beautiful looking onions Flighty, I am impressed. I am trying shallots from seed for the first time, but haven’t room for their big brothers.

  4. David Ford says:

    Those onions look good enough for a show, I just don`t having any luck with growing them myself.

  5. nikkipolani says:

    My, they’re beauties! I once had a roomie who was allergic to all forms of onion. It was reeeeeally difficult to eat together!

  6. elaine says:

    You are lucky to have enough space to grow enough onions to last you all year. I only have a few left now. I do reasonably well with onions each year. Yours have stored really well.

  7. menhir1 says:

    What’s happened to turbo? The plate setting looks delectable, good enough for a food magazine. :) xx

  8. Jo says:

    They’re smashers, they look good enough to be entered in a show. I’m having another go at growing from seed this year, though i’m going to grow some from sets too, just to be on the safe side.

  9. daffy says:

    I do like a good onion. :)

  10. Your onions look lovely! I lot of mine went rotten this year, still have a few left though, but not enough to get me through until summer.

  11. I’m tempted to try shallots as they can be pricey – but must make sure I keep enough space for all the #britishflowers I’m going to grow :)

  12. Glo says:

    As others have mentioned, your photo is prize worthy! I bet those onions are as delicious as they look. I actually made you a little award for your 700th post, but with falling off the blog wagon for a month, it’s still here. Just a minute and I’ll find it ~

    It includes a picture of your cute little fox with snow on its head. I was trying to conjure up an award using an 007 James Bond theme, but my brain gave up!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks. They sure are, even though they don’t all look quite as good as these ones.
      More thanks for that terrific award. Poor Fox Junior has had one of his ears and nose chewed, presumably by a real fox, so he’s looking a little worse for wear at the moment. xx

  13. annie_h says:

    First prize for the onions Flighty! I’ll remember those varieties too look for when I select my sets, you get a good deal for them there. My over-wintered onions did well last year, but my shallots and main planting in spring not so good. I’ve never had a bad crop of shallots before so I was surprised, not sure what went wrong there.

    • Flighty says:

      Annie thanks. Sturon is a very popular variety, and always gets good reports.
      As I grow enough I don’t bother with autumn onions. I think that we can blame the poor weather for everything last year. xx

  14. wellywoman says:

    I’m impressed by your self-sufficiency in onions. I tried red onions a few years ago and they were okay but developed a white fungus and didn’t store well. I tend to stick to shallots now.

  15. Damo says:

    I’ve grown Centurion before and they were very good. Good luck for the upcoming season.

Leave a Reply

