Bliss, books and biscuits

I spent a blissful Friday morning pottering on the plot in the weak sunshine. Needless to say the ground is still soggy so I worked all round the edges. It was a good start to the year and if I can do that every week through this month and next I’ll be well pleased.

The Flower ExpertI’ve used a book token that I was given to buy a couple of gardening books about flowers as I’ve really only one on the subject, which is a 1984 edition of The Flower Expert. I’ve bought the latest edition which has 250 pages, and browsing through it I noticed it includes Crepis rubra which I mentioned in Thursday’s post.

The Ten Minute Gardener's Flower Growing DiaryThe other book I’ve getting is Val Bourne’s The Ten Minute Gardener’s Flower Growing Diary. This has had good reviews and been recommended to me, so I’m looking forward to reading it.

After two Sunday mornings spent twiddling my thumbs the horticultural society’s trading shed reopened today.  Marge, one of the regular helpers, is visiting family in Australia but before Christmas she entrusted me with several packets of fancy biscuits, including a tin of Hilton’s Finest Luxury Chocolate Straws and a packet of Belgian White Chocolate Chunk Cookies, for everyone whilst she’s away. Typically I forgot them this morning so we had to make do with ordinary ones.

Talking of biscuits this is for everyone who likes a custard cream with their cup of tea.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Bliss, books and biscuits

  1. menhir1 says:

    It’s good that you have your gardening activities re-start – it must have been the excitement of it that made you forget the a la carte biscuits! xx ;)

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir it was indeed. No, it was more a case of out of sight out of mine as I’d hidden them away so I wouldn’t be tempted. xx

      • menhir1 says:

        …so that’s how you keep the calories at bay! It’s even better to share them out and avoid the calories coming your way in any shape or form. You’ll be popular when you do proffer the box of goodies. :) xx

  2. Jo says:

    Now that’s what you call a Custard Cream. You’ve just reminded me that I’ve got a packet of luxury biscuits in the cupboard, bought for Christmas and forgotten about, I must get them out. I’ve got Val Bourne’s book, along with the ten minute veg diary and ten minute fruit diary. They’re great little books to dip in and out of. I’m looking forward to getting back to the plot and doing some work, but it’s still a bit wet at the moment.

  3. David Ford says:

    Ah dedication Mike working round the edges, I visited the plot recently and took the cowards way out sat in the shed brewed a cup of tea and went home, all the best David

  4. wellywoman says:

    Val Bourne’s books are lovely, as Jo says great to dip in and out of. The ground at the allotment is drying out but doesn’t look ready to be dug. That custard cream is HUGE. It’s been a long time since I had a custard cream, was always more of a bourbon fan.

  5. wellywoman says:

    Forgot to say, the photo of that Iris on the cover of the Hessayon book is stunning. Hope you enjoy reading them.

  6. snowbird says:

    Lol….that’s what I call a custard cream! How smashin is that!
    There’s nothing more wonderful than a new gardening book to curl up with in a cozy armchair, glad you got started….xxxxx

  7. elaine says:

    Enjoy your new books and the biccy’s. Love that custard cream.

  8. Karen says:

    I love Val Bourne’s books and I’m sure you will too Flighty. Glad to hear you’re getting a bit done at the plot too.

    PS That’s a whopper of a custard cream!

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Goodness! Just reading about those biscuits has me dreaming :-) Very dedicated of you to work the non-soggy parts of the plot. I think I’d’ve settled back with a book and those custard creams.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki I’m looking forward to eating some next Sunday. At this time of year doing any work on the plot is a bonus. I’m still doing plenty of sofa flying! xx

  10. Joanne says:

    Great photo & I love the look of ‘The 10 minute gardeners flower growing diary’ another book for my list.

  11. annie_h says:

    Its great to get a few hours up at the plot to blow away the cobwebs isn’t it, I managed a couple of hours at my plot the other day and like you said it was bliss.
    I’ve just got that Val Bourne book too, seems a popular one, I’ll have to keep a look out for The Natural Gardener too, that sounds a good book.
    Amazing custard cream!

  12. Now that is a custard cream… Glad you got in some plotting, gardening when the weather is clear and bright is wonderful at this time of year. Sadly it is all a bit grey here today, so I am staying indoors and working out what seed I need to order for the coming growing season.

  13. Flighty says:

    Janet it sure is. Yes, and I did some more on Tuesday morning. Much too cold now so looks like it’s back to armchair gardening for a while. Good luck with the seed order! xx

Leave a Reply

