Still some colour

I was able to spend a welcome couple of hours on the plot last Wednesday, which was sunny and surprisingly mild.

I’d bought 15 tulip Golden Apeldoorn bulbs at the trading shed last Sunday for only £1-50 which I planted in a large container, and should look good when they flower.

Apart from that I was just pottering as there really is nothing more that needs doing before the onset of winter. There is still some colour thanks to the Twinkling Stars which I have found out are aster pilosus var. pringlei Monte Cassino, and the last few roses Pretty Lady.

The dogwood (cornus alba Sibirica) leaves have turned bright red and have started to drop exposing the red stems for which this plant is noted.

The crocosmia leaves are turning golden yellow, and will darken considerably before dying back completely.

Have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Still some colour

  1. elaine says:

    Lovely to see bits and bobs hanging on – I think I shall have to get a dogwood for a bit of winter colour

  2. It was nice for you to potter for a while anyway,Flighty. It is also nice to still see a bit of lingering colour.

  3. Jo says:

    The tulips are a nice variety, I’m looking forward to seeing all the different bulbs popping up when spring arrives. It’s good that a few blooms are hanging on, though I’m sure it won’t be long until it gets too cold for them.

  4. menhir1 says:

    Pottering around at this time of year is a great thing to be doing on the allotment, Mr F. It sounds like a very relaxing way to pass a bit of outdoor time.

    I have sourced some extra Crocosomia from a friend’s garden, but, as it has been icy and frosty here, it is not ideal for trying to dig out the plants, nor create a few holes in the garden, at least not from where I am standing! :)

    xx

  5. snowbird says:

    There is nothing nicer than being able to potter, especially after a busy season, then you can take stock and re-think any changes needing to be made. You do still have lot’s of colour though, much more than me. I was surprised to see a single tiny red poppy flowering today.xxxxx

  6. Doris says:

    I’m a definite potter given that that is my last name! :-)

  7. Glo says:

    Always a plus to appreciate a mild day in November, and good to see you took the opportunity to potter about. Lovely to have some colour :) Can’t wait to see your tulips, however, not wise to hold my breath for months ;)

  8. wellywoman says:

    We had a hard frost on Sunday but there are still bits and pieces flowering. It’s a real treat to get some good weather at this time of year and to be able to get out and enjoy the plot. Hope you have a good week, Flighty. WWx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Good deal on the tulips! Hope they’ll bloom well for you. Nice to see a rose this late in the season.

  10. Joanne says:

    It’s nice to see a bit of colour in the garden. I hope you enjoyed your pottering.

  11. I love tulips in pots – almost as much as I love dogwoods!

Leave a Reply

