Plot plants ~ Cornflowers

My favourite colour is blue and although I’m generally not that keen on blue flowers one I really do like is the annual cornflower (Centaurea cyranus). I sowed a packet of T & M’s cornflower Blue diadem back in the spring and for the past month or more have been enjoying these colourful flowersThey attract lots of pollinating insects and are an excellent long-lasting cut flower. Some varieties come in various shades of red and white but for me they have to be blue.

I’ve also got two perennial varieties growing on the plot. There are several well established mountain cornflowers (Centeurea montana) which flower in the spring and, on the wildlife patch surrounding the log pile, lots of lesser knapweed (Centeurea nigra).

I shall be more than happy to see all these grow and flower in profusion again next year.


About Flighty

a lifelong sofa flyer, lawn lounger and book buff.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Plot plants ~ Cornflowers

  1. Jo says:

    I agree, I love the blue cornflowers. I have a patch in my wildlife border and they certainly attract the beneficial insects.

  2. Louise says:

    Cornflowers are one of my favourites. Everything is looking pretty blue outside in my garden at the moment. Even the sky! x

  3. Ellie says:

    Yes, they are a beautiful flower and I’m not keen on the other colours. I grew a ‘black’ variety this summer – but it seemed more purple than black to me. Not as good as the real thing. x

  4. Doris says:

    Blue is my favorite colour as well. It was when I was a child then my tastes changed but blue is back once again! I would love to see those blue cornflowers in person. They look lovely!

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Oh, that blue is gorgeous! I love how you’ve caught the frilliness of these petals.

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki they’re only as bright as that fow a few days then start fading sadly! Thanks I’ve taken lots of photos of them but this was the only one I really liked. xx

  6. mrs K says:

    I just love cornflowers (all colours) they remind me of meadows in my childhood. And as I love blue, Himalayan poppies, Forget-Me-Nots and Speedwell. Lovely.

    High winds, apples fell = Apple Jelly.

  7. Glo says:

    How did you enjoy your week of wonderful movies? I hope there is similar viewing over the cold winter months when the weather insists you stay home to be cozily warm.

    Lovely blue cornflowers ~ I love forget-me-nots, too. Hope you get some more pleasant fall weather to enjoy your plot.

    • Flighty says:

      Glo they’re on this week, and it was Singin’ in the Rain today! Daytime TV is usually pretty dire but every now and again there’s a good film on so fingers crossed.
      Thanks, and yes I agree about forget-me-nots! It was dull today but the rest of the week looks reasonable if somewhat windy. I reckon that I’ve got the sunniest plot on the site thanks to all the nasturtiums, pot marigolds and sunflowers! xx

  8. Damo says:

    Great flowers, I’ve just taken my cornflowers out as they were dieing back but they’d given a good 3 months of colour so I can’t complain.

Leave a Reply

